Recapping 2016

Oh 2016… There aren’t many people that won’t be happy to see you go. It was a tumultuous year for myself, Hollywood (RIP Gene Wilder), and the country in general. But let’s take one last look at what happened before properly giving it the boot.

  • My brother and I rang in the New Year in Miami after a Clemson win over Oklahoma
  • Flew to Phoenix with my brother to meet his old college roommate and our dad
  • Saw Clemson play for a national title in person against Alabama! But lost 45-40
  • Bought a Playstation 4 and a couple of games
  • Met a girl
  • Saw Marianas Trench (concert #1) in Charleston with San Diego
  • Saw Marianas Trench (#2) the next night in Charlotte with San Diego
  • Saw Jon Pardi and Brothers Osbourne in concert (#3) with a girl
  • Went to my first Charlotte Checkers hockey game
  • Panthers played Denver for the Super Bowl… but lost too
  • My direct boss left at work and bummed me out
  • Saw Carly Rae Jepsen (#4) with a girl and a whole bunch of ecstatic gay guys
  • A girl became The girl
  • Gave my employees reviews for the first time. Not a fun process
  • Got souvenirs from Costa Rica from the girl’s Spring Break trip
  • Voted for Marco Rubio in North Carolina’s primary who then dropped out that night
  • Bridge Run #10 (9th consecutive)
  • Fed up with work and applied to one job out of the blue
  • Had an interview 3 days later
  • Saw Kacey Musgraves (#5 & 6) at a local record store then later that night with the girl
  • Had another interview
  • Ran the Charlotte Skyline 5K for the girl’s job
  • Started looking at houses
  • Went to my first Charlotte Knights baseball game
  • Looked at more houses with the girl
  • Had another interview
  • Got a job offer two days later!
  • Met the girl’s extended family at her brother’s Virginia Tech graduation
  • Said yes to the job offer!
  • Saw Chris Stapleton (#7) with the girl
  • Looked at more houses with the parents
  • Put in my notice (after 4 years!) and had to tell my employees I was leaving
  • Looked at more houses solo
  • Had a week off between jobs to stay at home and watch E3 press conferences
  • Signed a contract to build a house (!!!)
  • Started my fancy new job in downtown Charlotte 5 days later
  • The girl broke up with me and became a girl again 9 days later
  • Became incredibly overwhelmed with life
  • A new Good Charlotte CD came out and I was surprisingly impressed
  • Saw Marianas Trench (#8) in Asheville solo
  • Saw Marianas Trench (#9) in Raleigh solo and caught the bassist’s pick!
  • Made the selections for my new house – didn’t get my outside color but got my sink
  • Made a phone call to a therapist to discuss life struggles with a house, a job, and no girl
  • Saw Motion City Soundtrack (#10) on their last tour in Charlotte w/ a friend of a friend
  • I broke down. Completely.
  • Met the therapist and was terrified but it went really well
  • Met the therapist again and was much more relaxed
  • Began volunteering again with Animal Care & Control
  • Had my first inspection at the lot with my dad and the builder
  • Camped with my brother, sister in law, and his friends
  • Met the therapist for the last time because I felt better
  • Read the Harry Potter series for the first time
  • My nephew turned 3
  • Discovered Stranger Things on Netflix and it was amazing
  • Destiny: The Rise of Iron came out
  • Riots and protests in Charlotte after a cop shot and killed a man who pulled a gun
  • Harper turned 6
  • My brother, sister in law, and nephews moved from Columbia to the lake in Chapin
  • Had my second inspection at the house with my mom and the builder
  • Won the Most Original Halloween Costume award at work for going as Willy Wonka
  • Disappointingly voted for Trump; Proudly voted against McCrory
  • Trump won. Wait… What?!
  • Saw Ingrid Michaelson (#11) in Charlotte solo
  • Clemson lost to Pittsburgh on a last second field goal
  • Saw Yellowcard (#12) in Charlotte on their last tour with a date
  • Saw Good Charlotte (#13) in Charlotte solo
  • Charlotte Turkey Trot #5
  • Clemson beat South Carolina to death (56-7) and I was there!
  • Clemson beat Virginia Tech in Orlando to win the ACC and I wasn’t there
  • Deshaun Watson finished 2nd in the Heisman voting
  • Locked a 5/1 ARM in at 2.875% on my house
  • My younger nephew turned 1
  • Watched my house get walls, a roof, flooring, a lawn, lights, and appliances
  • Christmas’d in Chapin at my mom’s then at my brother’s
  • I’ll ring in the New Year in Chapin in front of football

It also should come as no surprise that in a year no one liked, my resolutions also struggled.

  • 12 Books:
  • 12,000 Dollars:
    • 4Q projection – $12,000
    • 4Q actual – $15,903.09
    • The closing of my new house was pushed into January 2017 so this resolution was helped a bit by that, having not had to buy furniture, blinds, fans, etc. And I’ve been able to put a washer, dryer, and refrigerator on a no-interest credit card. So the bank account has been happy this year.
  • 12 Parks:
    • 4Q projection – 12
    • 4Q actual – 5
    • I didn’t get to any state parks this quarter. With building the house, college football, and family get-togethers and birthdays, the 4th quarter is usually a busy one on the weekends.
  • 12,000 Push-ups/Sit-ups:
    • 4Q projection – 12,000
    • 4Q actual – 1,480
    • Hahahahahahahaha. Yeah. About that…
  • 12 Football Games:
    • 4Q projection – 12
    • 4Q actual – 6
    • After missing the first and second game last quarter, I knew I wouldn’t hit my goal here. But I didn’t expect to only hit half of the games. I missed one home game for my nephew’s birthday party. I missed the Boston College game I had intended on going to. The ACC moved the Championship game out of Charlotte to Orlando, so I missed that game. Airfare was outrageous from Charlotte to Phoenix, so I’m missing the Fiesta Bowl in Glendale. Hopefully, I can add an early game in 2017 with a trip to Tampa for the National Championship.
  • 12,000 Gamerscore:
    • 4Q projection – 12,000
    • 4Q actual – 8,655
    • I made a good push here this quarter but I didn’t quite get there. I picked up the Bioshock Collection but I haven’t quite finished the first game. I grabbed Gears of War 4 and Watchdogs 2 earlier this week, so I haven’t had much time to pick up many there. The Walking Dead Season 3 came out too but I haven’t downloaded it yet. So there’s room for improvement in 2017!
  • 12 Pounds:
    • 4Q projection – -12.0
    • 4Q actual – +8.0
    • So you’re saying hash browns and bacon aren’t good for weight loss? Being home for the holidays has ruined this goal. Not only have I been eating more but if my Fitbit is to be trusted, my weekly steps has fallen from roughly 77,000 to 32,000. I don’t walk several blocks to and from work. I don’t walk Harper a couple of times a day when it’s easy to open the door and let her out. I have only run once. Oops?

Well… 2016 wasn’t a pretty year for resolutions either. I crushed my first two resolutions by the end of the 3rd quarter. The remaining six? Just brutal.

Hopefully you fared much better on your goals than I did on mine.

I’ll get to ring in the New Year at home with family watching the Clemson-Ohio State game. Hopefully the end of this year follows suit with last year and Clemson gets a win to play for another National Championship. If so, I may just be making a trip to Tampa to kick off 2017.

Happy New Year! Be safe!

This entry was posted in Resolutions. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Recapping 2016

  1. hopeclark says:

    What, no more of my hash browns and bacon?

Leave a Reply

