What I Learned: July 22

  • So… this happened todayVoter Registration
    Lately, I’ve been incredibly disenfranchised with the political landscape in our country. I refuse to believe that the two best candidates for the most powerful job in the United States are a liar and a lunatic. Yet, somehow, here we are, stuck voting for Hillary Clinton or Donald Trump in 2016. For me, voting has always been a way to voice your opinion. But lately that doesn’t feel like it’s enough. So I’ve officially denounced my membership to the Republican party (in the state of North Carolina’s eyes anyways). Get your act together,
  • Speaking of… Paul Ryan, current US Speaker of the House, lost all of my confidence this week.

    “When you advance to a national championship, don’t you root for a Longhorn if you’re an Aggie? Start thinking that way.”

    First, you’re trying to use a (bad) college football analogy to get me to vote for Donald Trump just because he’s running for the party I normally back? Second, you’re out of your damn mind if you think I’d EVER root for South Carolina if they made the national championship game. This election sucks. Just like the University of South Carolina.

  • I saw Ghostbusters last weekend. It wasn’t great but I’m not sure it was the pile of trash the Internet is making it out to be either. It was entertaining enough to be a summer comedy. Kristen Wiig and Melissa McCarthy have always been pretty “eh” to me. But I loved Kate McKinnon. Homegirl’s hilarious. If you don’t go into it expecting it to be the 1984 movie, you should be good to go.
  • I need to work on my confidence, in relation to external factors. I’ve always been sure of myself and my abilities. If there was a test in school or a project at work I needed to tackle, I’m your guy. I’ll outwork everyone else and put in an effort that’s better than most will give. But lately, I’ve been struggling. I like work but I’m having a hard time finding a group of people to really relate to. And I’m not confident in my ability to strike up conversation and make friends. I like the idea of building a house but I’m having a hard time wrapping my head around the decisions (counters, carpet, etc) I have to make in the next week. And that doesn’t even scratch the surface of how unsure I am about my recent breakup. But I need to do better. For my own mental health.
  • I saw Marianas Trench in Asheville Wednesday night! I saw them twice in January in Charleston and Charlotte and typed up a hefty little piece on the shows. The show was a little short (less than 90 minutes), so that was disappointing. And I was under the impression that Wildfire and Dearly Departed were going to be played and neither were, so that was even more disappointing. But I got to spend an evening in the mountains, at a new venue, in a cool city, seeing my favorite band. And I’ll never complain about that. Marianas Trench Asheville 2016

How’s the weekend looking for you? I’m heading to Raleigh tonight to see Marianas Trench again (#groupie) and going to Clemson on Saturday to meet my brother and the nephews for an annual photo shoot in Tiger Town. So I’ll be putting some miles on the truck in the Carolinas.

This entry was posted in What I Learned. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

