1st Quarter Report – 2016

It’s funny how resolutions work. Last year, I struggled to get to four concerts by December. This year, I’ve seen Marianas Trench twice, Jon Pardi, and Carly Rae Jepsen in the first three months, with Kacey Musgraves and possibly Chris Stapleton in the next quarter. My 2015 trip goal was front loaded with Hawaii and St. Augustine in April but all of my trips are stacking up in the fourth quarter this time around.

So how are the goals looking up ’til now?

  • 12 Books:
    • 1Q projection – 3
    • 1Q actual – 2
    • What would a reading goal of mine be without starting the year behind? I finished up Halo: Contact Harvest by Joseph Staten in January. It was okay. Definitely not the best of the Halo books bunch. Then I wrapped up Wild by Cheryl Strayed halfway through March. I loved this book because I can relate to her pushing her own boundaries and the inevitable return to the “real world” she struggled with. I started Edisto Jinx by C Hope Clark (my momma!) late in the month but I haven’t made much headway yet.
  • 12,000 Dollars:
    • 1Q projection – $3,000
    • 1Q actual – $2,644.85
    • The first quarter is always the worst, money-wise. I have my IPTAY donation due. It’s my second year buying season football tickets. This year, I managed to snag a girlfriend around February. Going forward though, my annual increase at work goes into effect. And hopefully the big purchases die down a bit. I should be able to catch up by the second quarter or third at the latest.
  • 12 Parks:
    • 1Q projection – 3
    • 1Q actual – 2
    • Not terribly behind. Yet. My fourth quarter is always shot on the weekends with football, so I’ve got some work to do. In February, I took a mental health day to go play in the woods and hit up Little Pee Dee State Park and Woods Bay State Park with Harper. There was a 1.3 mile trail at Little Pee Dee and a 0.9 mile loop at Woods Bay, so nothing too strenuous. The Bridge Run is this weekend, so I’m going to try and visit Givhans Ferry while I’m down there. And I always have Sesquicentennial in Columbia as a backup. Maybe some camping trips in my future?
  • 12,000 Push-ups/Sit-ups:
    • 1Q projection – 3,000
    • 1Q actual – 686
    • This was always going to be a back-heavy goal. The idea was to start the first week of the year with 1 push-up and 1 sit-up a day, every day. But I thought that was starting a little light. I’m finishing up this week with 19 a day, so I should be almost at 750 by the end of the weekend. Just FYI – crunches are infinitely harder to do than push-ups once the numbers get a little higher.
  • 12 Football Games:
    • 1Q projection – 3
    • 1Q actual – 0
    • No football season means no football games. I am planning a trip with the girl and the brother’s family for the Spring Game in Clemson a week from now. But I’m not cutting corners and counting that one. The big boy games start in September with Auburn, so look for this one to be dormant for another quarter and some change.
  • 12,000 Gamerscore:
    • 1Q projection – 3,000
    • 1Q actual – 1,715
    • I’m a bit conflicted on this one. I probably would have been close to hitting my goal on this one. But in January, I picked up a PS4 to play Call of Duty and The Division with a group of guys (and girl) from work. PlayStation uses trophies, not achievements and gamerscore. So my 1,715 score only covers my Xbox One progress. I have 715 points from Rise of the Tomb Raider and just 100%’d Life is Strange earlier this week to get the 1,000 points there. There’s still a few achievements within reach on Destiny. I’m playing through Sherlock Holmes: Crimes and Punishment now. I’m debating on whether to pick up Quantum Break. I’ve got a standing offer to co-op Borderlands. Just have to carve out the time!
  • 12 Pounds:
    • 1Q projection – -3.0
    • 1Q actual – +7.0
    • Ha. Going the wrong direction in a fierce way. So much for this goal. #Fat

Nothing too bad but nothing too great either. I’m behind on all of my goals but that was to be expected on some (football games, push-ups, sit-ups) and I’m not far behind on most of the others (money, gamerscore, books, and parks). The only one that really caught me off guard was the weight goal. But that’s why I keep track each quarter: find out what’s working and correct what isn’t.

So how was the start to your year?

This entry was posted in Resolutions. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to 1st Quarter Report – 2016

  1. hopeclark says:

    Well, I was going to write 1,000 words a day on a novel. I’m up to 16,000 words, so….a bit behind. Was going to write three nonfiction books this year – haven’t started. But had a few other unforeseen opportunities jump in the mix that compensated, I think. Did NOT gain 7 pounds.

  2. Pingback: 2nd Quarter Report – 2016 | Nanu's Nation

Leave a Reply

