Previewing 2016

Happy New Years!

My 2015 could not have ended any better. My brother and I watched Clemson dismantle a cocky Oklahoma team from section 351 in the corner of Sun Life Stadium in Miami, Florida. My 11th (out of 14 total) game attended in person. The win guarantees that Clemson will play for the National Championship against Alabama in Glendale, Arizona.

And guess who already has tickets?

You leave some big shoes to fill, 2015. So let’s see what I plan to take on in 2016.

  • 12 Books: I’ve tried to hit 15 books the last two years and have fallen short. So let’s dial back this goal to 2013 levels to see if I can get back on track. I’ve got a sizeable backlog to try and make a dent in as well. Finders Keepers by Stephen King. Wild by Cheryl Strayed. Zeroes by Chuck Wendig. My mom’s newest book, Edisto Jinx. I’ve kicked around the idea of starting the Harry Potter books to see if they’re worth reading.
  • 12,000 Dollars: Two years earlier, I set a goal for saving $10,000 and met it. This year, I’ve upped the ante a bit. I’m making more than I was two years ago but I also have more expenses, mainly IPTAY and Clemson football. Not to mention a last minute trip to Arizona. Until I find a better avenue to invest my money, the goal is to keep stockpiling what I can.
  • 12 Parks: In 2014, I met this goal. In 2015, I fell short. I believe I’m up to 20 of the 47 South Carolina state parks. Realistically, I should be able to wrap up a visit to all of them by the end of 2017. There’s a big patch of the parks in the northwestern corner of the state and a handful along the coast that I still have to cross off of the list. Harper and I may need to pack up the tent this year to hit some of the farther parks.
  • 12,000 Push-ups/Sit-ups: My first of two health-related goals for 2016. The idea for this one began with doing the same number of push-ups and sit-ups each day as the week of the year (i.e. 1 push-up and 1 sit-up a day in the 1st week). Using 52 weeks, that totals 9,646 of each by the end of the year. Upping the total up to 12,000 should push me a bit more. It means I’ll need to average almost 33 a day (or 230 a week) instead of 27 a day (186 a week). I figure I should be able to start with more than 1 a day and by the end, I should be in shape enough to add a few more each day.
  • 12 Football Games: In 2015, I attended nine of the 12 regular season games. Ten of 13 with the ACC Championship Game added in. Eleven of 14 with the Orange Bowl. Which got me thinking about how much more of an effort it would take to hit all of the games. In 2016, I’ll find out. There are seven home games: Troy, SC State, Louisville, NC State, Syracuse, Pittsburgh, and South Carolina. With season tickets, I had already planned on hitting those seven. That leaves games at Auburn (brother and I were already making plans to attend), Boston College (dad and I were already making plans to attend), Wake Forest (an hour and a half from Charlotte), Georgia Tech (four hours from Charlotte), and Florida State. The Tallahassee game will be the one that requires the most effort to fit into the schedule. But it’s certainly doable.
  • 12,000 Gamerscore: Xbox.com had a “Year in Review” feature for my 2015 gaming efforts. Apparently, I spent 1,286 hours online (top 5% worldwide) so this could have easily been 1,200 hours. But Destiny should get me halfway there in any given year as it is. My gamerscore since January was 11,020 over 504 achievements (top 1% worldwide). That leaves me roughly a full game’s worth of achievements to close that gap from 11,020 to 12,000 gamerscore. I received the new Tomb Raider game for Christmas. There’s rumored to be a full Destiny sequel release in the Fall. I’m already planning on picking up The Division, Quantum Break, Gears of War 4, and Mass Effect: Andromeda. Combined with the Games With Gold free games each month, I should have more than enough opportunities to get the achievements.
  • 12 Pounds: The second health-related goal of the year. I jokingly mention to my family that I’m fat. In reality, I know I’m not. But that doesn’t mean I don’t have a little weight to lose. After P90X in 2015, I had dropped down between 190 and 195. By the end of the year, I had gained my lost weight back and then some, hovering between 215 and 220. Averaging a pound a month would put me back down around 200. The sit-ups and push-ups goal should help with this one.

What do you have in store for 2016?

This entry was posted in Resolutions. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Previewing 2016

  1. Pingback: 1st Quarter Report – 2016 | Nanu's Nation

  2. Pingback: Recapping 2016 | Nanu's Nation

Leave a Reply

