What I Learned: November 20, 2015

How ya feelin’ about a music theme this week?

  • In the “well, that pleasantly came out of nowhere” category, Good Charlotte is back! Are they cheesy? Absolutely. Is their newer music borderline terrible? Oh God, yes! But those are my guys. They’re my first love, musically, so I’ll always have a soft spot carved out for the ol’ GC. (The opening guitar on The Anthem and  The Young & The Hopeless are still two of my favorite opening notes to any song) Surprisingly enough, their new song Makeshift Love isn’t terrible. I think it’s closer to their earlier sound, which is a very good thing. They’re touring with All Time Low in the spring. I’d absolutely be at a stop on that tour if it weren’t for the fact that they’re only making stops in the United Kingdom. Hopefully that means they’ll back on the road in the States sometime in the spring or summer though.
  • Ask and ye shall receive. In my last entry, I mentioned how I was bummed that Marianas Trench wasn’t making a tour stop anywhere near me. The very next week, they announced double the tour dates! And now I’m the proud owner of two tickets to both the Charleston date at the Music Farm on January 26th and the Charlotte date at The Fillmore on January 27th. So excited for this. They’re dangerously close to passing Fall Out Boy for being the favorite band. Side note – They’re not playing Wildfire on this tour and that crushes me!
  • I spent hours one night dissecting music with San Diego on the Billboard Hot 100. It started because I overheard a coworker talking about Love Myself by Hailee Steinfeld (it’s about exactly what it sounds like…). It’s a crazy catchy song but I’d never heard of her or it and noticed it was on the Hot 100. So down the rabbit hole I fell. And I climbed back out absolutely furious. I know this is going to make me sound incredibly old but the popular music today is TERRIBLE. Drake has 7 songs on the list. Fetty Wap has 6 songs which is a crime to music in general. You literally can’t understand what he’s saying because it’s just whiny, mumbling, God awful noise. To be fair, it’s not all bad, there is some good stuff on there like Kelsea Ballerini (check out Love Me Like You Mean It), Sam Hunt (Speakers), Meghan Trainor (Like I’m Gonna Lose You), and Elle King (Ex’s and Oh’s)
  • Last night, I bought a ticket to see Silverstein and Senses Fail at Amos’ Southend on December 10th. Neither band is at the top of my list but both have been consistently good and around forever. Silverstein may be the band I’ve seen the most, outside of Fall Out Boy. And Senses Fail got me over a girl one summer back in college. So it’ll be good to time warp back to 2005 to see both bands again. It also gets me to a local venue I haven’t had the chance to check out yet in Amos’ Southend. But most importantly, it’ll get me to my 4th concert this year, helping me cross that resolution off the list.
  • Every now and then, a song comes along that drowns out the noise and makes everything else irrelevant. Adele released a live version of When We Were Young on Tuesday while I was at work. Listening through my headphones, I stopped what I was doing as soon as I heard her go low with the “… to the way you move” lyric in the first verse. I just soaked it in, through my phone, at my desk. I’ve never been a huge Adele fan. I know the songs. And I don’t hate them. But it’s never hooked me. This though? It’s gorgeous. She absolutely kills this song. Her voice is perfect. She’s in total control the entire way through. I still get chills every time I listen. I can only hope the studio version is this good. Songs like this do a better job explaining why I love music better than words ever could. Have a listen. 

Sometimes I wonder if people hear music the same way I do. Because I’m sorry if they don’t.

Enjoy your last few days before the onslaught of Thanksgiving and the start of Christmas season! Eat some sweet potato casserole for me.

This entry was posted in What I Learned. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What I Learned: November 20, 2015

  1. C Hope Clark says:

    Sweet potato casserole it is – one to eat here and one to take back with you. Dude…you need to do a music blog . . . and a cookie blog. You do great blog posts.

  2. Actually made me click on several of the videos listed – your enthusiasm shines through really well. 🙂

  3. Neeks says:

    Actually made me click on several of the videos listed – your enthusiasm shines through really well! 🙂

Leave a Reply

