2nd Quarter Report – 2015

So I’m updating my 2015 Resolutions a day late. But we had a bake-off yesterday at work and my cookies needed my full attention, as a coworker called me out. The judges scored mine so much higher than his, I felt a little bad.

But if you trash talk my cookies, you’re a dead man walking.

On to the goals!

  • 15 Books:
    • 2Q projection – 7.5
    • 2Q actual – 7
    • I made up a little ground but I’m still half a book behind schedule. Although technically, since I’m halfway through First Strike as I type this, that makes me right on schedule. My first 2Q book was The Flood, the second book in the Halo series. This one followed the first Halo game, step by step, which is the opposite of what made the first book good. Color me not impressed. On the flight out to Hawaii, I beta-read my mom’s second book in her Callie series on Edisto. I’ll be curious to see what people think this fall when it comes out, as it uses social media in a fun way. Impressed with Gone Girl, I gave Gillian Flynn’s first book, Sharp Objects, a shot. The story was pretty good but weird. Also, it was obvious that was her first novel, which is disappointing. And lastly, I finished up her second book Dark Places too. It was better than the first but not as good as the third. Her female characters are weird, creepy people.
  • 90 Days:
    • 2Q projection – 45
    • 2Q actual – 90
    • Taking my trip to Hawaii put a huge dent in my progress with P90X. I missed a couple of days prior to leaving by staying busy packing and dropping the pup off at my mom’s place. Then I was there for two weeks. And crashing back to reality the week after getting back was a tough pill to swallow. So there was roughly a three and a half break in my third phase. But I’ve officially completed the program! Cross this bad boy off my list!
  • 12 Parks:
    • 2Q projection – 6
    • 2Q actual – 4
    • I’m still behind schedule on this one. I went to a couple of national and state parks in Hawaii but my resolution specified South Carolina parks, so I’m only adding two this quarter. On May 31st, Harper and I hit the road for Rose Hill Plantation State Historic Site in Union, SC. It’s the house of William Gist, the governor who oversaw South Carolina’s secession to begin the Civil War. I had to bypass the tour of the house since I had Harper but we walked around the property and followed the trail down to the Tyger River through the Sumter National Forest. Then we bounced up to Croft State Park in Spartanburg, SC. Harper got her first, up-close taste of horses, as this is a very horse-friendly park where you can trail-ride your gigantic pets. We opted for the 1.5 mile nature trail down to the Fairforest Creek. Harper played in the water, I picked ticks off of my legs, and we called it a day.
  • 2 Trips:
    • 2Q projection – 1
    • 2Q actual – 2
    • Hawaii! On April 20th, I was finally able to cross my 50th state off of my list! That’s easily my life accomplishment I’m most proud of for the time being. The North Shore was amazing. I was the Southernmost person in the US on the Big Island. Kauai was full of outdoor adventures! Is it someplace I’ll go back? Maybe, maybe not. But it’s absolutely worth doing if you ever have the chance. I promise to finish my blog for Days 6 – 10 soon! To make my Hawaii trip crazier, once I touched down in Charlotte, I packed a bag and headed to St. Augustine, Florida for the first time with my brother and sister in law for a college buddy’s wedding. We did two national parks and made a tourist-y weekend out of it. So yet another resolution wrapped up this quarter.
  • 200 Pages:
    • 2Q projection – 100
    • 2Q actual – 0
    • Still no book work. I was super close to picking it up a couple of weeks ago… but then I didn’t. I did come up with a pretty cool idea for chapter names though. So at least I’ve made the tiniest step forward to having something written.
  • 2 Tattoos:
    • 2Q projection – 1
    • 2Q actual – 0
    • Still no news here either. I don’t even begin to know where to start in finding somewhere I’m comfortable with doing this. I need to just man up!
  • 1 Rental:
    • 2Q projection – 0.5
    • 2Q actual – 0
    • Still nothing here either. With it being summer, houses in Columbia are definitely on the market in an area I’m interested in. This one is as simple as carving out some time to research what I want to look at and schedule a realtor for a weekend. Columbia is the most appealing to me for picking up a rental house at the moment.
  • 4 Season Tickets:
    • 2Q projection – 2
    • 2Q actual – 4
    • Even though I completed this one in the first quarter, I’m officially finished paying for my Clemson season tickets this quarter. By this time next quarter, I’ll have been to three games! That’s a little crazy to think about. This quarter also saw the purchase of 14 tickets to the Louisville game in Louisville on 09/17. It’s going to be a big family trip full of football and bourbon! I can’t wait!
  • 100 Photo Pages:
    • 2Q projection – 50
    • 2Q actual – 0
    • Ha. Good one, Matt. You’re such an accomplished resolution-maker.
  • 4 Concerts:
    • 2Q projection – 2
    • 2Q actual – 2
    • Unfortunately, there were no 2Q concerts. I really wanted to see Yellowcard in Asheville, NC on April 25th since they’re one of the few bands I was really in to that I haven’t seen live. But I was traipsing around the Hawaiian Islands instead of day-tripping it to the NC mountains. I’ve got my Fall Out Boy show coming up on 07/19 though! And I’m still debating on maybe running up to Greensboro, NC on 07/28 for a Hit The Lights show. There’s also a Walk The Moon show in Charlotte this October. And with a fall album set to drop, Marianas Trench will hopefully make their way down south sometime before the end of the year. So I have plenty of opportunities coming up.

We’ve hit the halfway point! The good news is that I have three of my resolutions wrapped up and two more are right on pace. The bad news is that I still have four resolutions I haven’t made any headway on!

How are you doing with your goals?

This entry was posted in Resolutions. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to 2nd Quarter Report – 2015

  1. C Hope Clark says:

    I’m behind on mine. Wanted to travel less and write more and have done just the opposite. Wanted to write two books in a year, and I’m struggling with one.

  2. Pingback: 3rd Quarter Report – 2015 | Nanu's Nation

Leave a Reply

