What I Learned: February 17

Hi! It’s been awhile!

  • Quick rundown of the restaurants I’ve conquered with the Lunch Roulette crowd:
    • Cluck N Cup – Had the chicken pot pie with coleslaw. It was decent but it’s also hard to design an entire restaurant around a chicken pot pie
    • Comet Grill – Went with the buffalo burger, which isn’t made of buffalo, just covered in blue cheese and buffalo sauce. Really good, cheap burger though!
    • Zack’s Burger – Typical 1970’s diner-style burger. Good but not great
    • McKoy’s Smokehouse – I can’t go to a smokehouse that touts their BBQ and not get a plate. Not the worst but it’s no Midwood…
    • Common Market – Quirky, hipster grocery store/deli in South End. I tried the chicken salad deluxe sandwich but it didn’t hold a candle to my grandmother’s chicken salad. Our entire department went for my boss’ last day at work
    • Midwood Smokehouse – Speaking of delicious BBQ. I’ve mentioned this one enough in plenty of prior entries. My favorite BBQ in Charlotte
    • Diamond – The Lunch Roulette wheel of destiny was reset and this happened to be our first trip of the new lunch season. A cheap, delicious little diner that’s been around since 1945. Went straight bacon cheeseburger because I’m super exciting…
    • Phat Burrito – Another staple I’ve mentioned plenty of times. I usually go with the gigantic chicken burrito and chips here
    • Tupelo Honey Cafe – I think I’m one of the few people that thinks this place is completely overrated. It tries to be high-class Southern food but it’s been bland every time I’ve been. I had the Southern Fried Chicken BLT. It looked amazing but was pretty forgettable. And it was 1100 (!!!) calories. Ridiculous!
    • Mac’s Speed Shop – Another Nanu’s Nation Charlotte staple. Probably my second favorite BBQ place here
  • Unless you’ve been living under a rock, you should be aware of how big Breaking Bad forced itself into pop culture a couple of years ago. Easily the best show I’ve ever seen. I’ll go to my grave thinking the Ozymandias episode is the best 60 minutes of TV ever made. This past weekend, the prequel/sequel Better Call Saul debuted. I was nervous because it will never live up to the shadow created by Breaking Bad. But also because it’s a different timeline (pre-BB events), following a different character (Saul, Walter White’s attorney), with a different vibe (BB was a dark drama, BCS is a comedic drama). But I’ve been really impressed after the first three episodes. Vince Gilligan, the show’s creator, has really found his niche.
  • As an adult-version of the cheap Valentine’s Day cards passed out in elementary school, my company had Thank You cards out all last week for employees to fill out and have delivered to each other on Friday. It was mainly to appease the girls (I don’t know any guys that filled them out), which just stirred up drama. It turned into the guys receiving multiple cards from girls who expected either cards or recognition back. Have you ever considered how awkward it is to tell someone thank you for sending you a Thank You card to subdue pouting? #ThisIsWhyImSingle
  • The first week of February I got to add some pretty cool bullets to my live music resume. On the 2nd, I went to see Motion City Soundtrack. I’ve listened to them for more than a decade but managed to miss them through the years. They were at the top of my “favorite bands I haven’t seen yet” (Yellowcard, you’re next). It was a 10 year anniversary tour of their Commit This To Memory album. Really fun show! Then on the 6th, I caught Ingrid Michaelson. I was completely out of my comfort zone because I wasn’t a) with a large group of girls, b) a boyfriend clearly drug there by a girlfriend, or c) gay. I’d bet legit money I was the only straight guy there by myself. But she was really, really good. And I got to learn some new music!
  • At the time of this posting, my dad officially has three more days in Alaska before moving back to Clemson! I feel for him because I know he absolutely loved living in Alaska and he’s going to miss it incredibly. But it’s also going to be really good to see him more than a couple of times a year since he’ll only be two hours down the road. He’s also excited to be able to spend time with my nephew, his only grandchild. There’s a reason I’m buying Clemson season tickets this year.

Overtime! So enjoy these bonus bullet points!

  • My favorite band on the planet, Fall Out Boy, released their newest album – American Beauty / American Psycho in January. And I hate it. Okay, so maybe hate is too strong of a word. But it’s easily my least favorite full-length album of theirs. By a mile. In my opinion, the best thing going on the album (Uma Thurman) is cheapened because they sampled The Munsters‘ theme song. Of all things to sample, a 1960s TV show is your go to song? And to top it off, their summer tour is with a white Jewish rapper (Hoodie Allen) and a big name rapper (Wiz Khalifa). I’m still going to the Charlotte date but none of that is appealing enough to get me to check out the Raleigh date too like I did last year. It’s just a bummer knowing that your favorite band and you may finally be heading your separate ways.
  • The Superbowl ads this year were abysmal. But the Dodge one just gets me. Not only is it full of old people being badasses and passing on valuable bits of advice (“Keep your eyes open. And sometimes your mouth shut.”), it’s showcasing one of the sexiest cars on the road. I will absolutely own a Dodge Challenger one day.

Snow day for me today! Enjoy your Tuesday 🙂

This entry was posted in What I Learned. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What I Learned: February 17

  1. hopeclark says:

    I loved that commercial, too. As for Better Call Saul, I haven’t seen it because it is comedic. It’s hard to make comedy work well.

    How’s Harper?

Leave a Reply

