3rd Quarter Report – 2014

Good riddance summer! Bring on autumn!

Summer has always been my least favorite season. So I’m glad to get the third quarter out of the way just for the simple fact that I welcome Fall with open arms. But in terms of my resolutions, it was my worst quarter by far. In July, I transferred departments at work and the transition has been anything but smooth. So a poor attitude during the day tends to carry over into the evenings and weekends. That then translates to less trips to state parks, less races run, less books read… You catch my drift.

It’s make or break time now though. One more quarter left in the year to make an effort to better myself before wiping the slate clean, taking my lessons learned, and starting over.

So how are those New Years Resolutions coming along?

  • 15 Books:
    • 3Q projection – 11.25
    • 3Q actual – 11
    • My third quarter was all over the place even though I only read three books. First was David and Goliath by Malcolm Gladwell. I love his books because they always present uncommon solutions and approaches to common problems. One chapter asks if it’s a good thing to wish dyslexia onto your child then he proceeds to make a compelling argument. My second book was Mr. Mercedes by Stephen King. For most writers, it would have been a good book. For someone with the bar set as high as King has it, not so much. Finally, I tackled How Wendy Redbird Dancing Survived The Dark Ages of Nought by Lyn Fairchild Hawks. My mom had passed it my way to read and it’s hard to adequately describe the story in one sentence. It was good but it’s also young adult, which isn’t where I usually spend my time.
  • 12 Parks:
    • 3Q projection – 9
    • 3Q actual – 9
    • I warned you about this being a rough quarter. I didn’t hit any state parks in the last three months. Ouch. But the good news is that because I had such a strong start, I’m only three parks away from my goal. Just have to put one foot in front of the other!
  • 12 Races:
    • 3Q projection – 9
    • 3Q actual – 6
    • Ouch times two! I ran in the Born In The USA 4 miler in Columbia on the 4th of July. Since then? Nothing. I had wanted to run a 5K at the Whitewater Center this past weekend and started to train for it but wound up taking a big spill the weekend before and tore my knee up pretty good. So I’ve been off of my running game for a couple of weeks while it heals. Six races in 4 months may be a little tough to hit, to say the least.
  • 10,000 Dollars:
    • 3Q projection – $7,500
    • 3Q actual – $8,274.08
    • I lost a little bit of ground from last quarter (from +$1,079.36 to +$774.08) but dropping $700 on a new alternator and $300 on Clemson/Georgia tickets will put you back a bit. Luckily, October is a three-paycheck month so that should help. But the big push for Christmas is about to gear up too. This number will be fun to follow in the next three months to find out where it ends up.
  • 8 Months:
    • 3Q projection – 6
    • 3Q actual – 8
    • I made it! September 9th was eight full months and I’m still going strong. I thought football season was going to make me miss having cable. In reality, it’s been quite the opposite – not having cable has tempered my football fix. It also helps that of Clemson’s first four games, I went to the Georgia game, my nephew’s birthday was during the SC State game, and I went to a friend’s house for the Florida State game. I’ve only had to cave and use my brother’s ESPN account to watch this past weekend’s game against North Carolina. It also helps that I’m wasting/investing a lot of spare hours into Bungie’s new game Destiny.
  • 2 Projects:
    • 3Q projection – 1.5
    • 3Q actual – 0
    • There’s no news here. Shocker. I did find a new book-creating site (Blurb) that looks like it may be cheaper than some of the other competitors. They also have a self-publishing arm that could work nicely with my non-picture book project too. But I haven’t done as much research there.

Well my third quarter was not a good one. On one hand, not nearly as much progress was made that’s needed to wrap up some of these goals. But on the other, I did go ahead and get one scratched off the list by making it eight full months without cable.

Have your goals been accomplished? Are they still in play? Is it time to scrap them and start planning on 2015? Let me know in the comments below!

This entry was posted in Resolutions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to 3rd Quarter Report – 2014

  1. hopeclark says:

    I miss your Friday posts. They show the real you!

Leave a Reply

