What I Learned: July 12

  • I really enjoyed the Born in the USA 4 Mile run I ran on the 4th (at 7:44 am) in Columbia, SC. I finished in 40:22 which was much better than I was expecting, considering I ran a trail run 5K six days earlier in 36 minutes. Instead of medals to the top age group winners, they gave watermelons. In celebration of our country’s independence, I rocked the shirt o’ freedom. Sleeves are for terrorists.
    Born in the USA 2014
  • After my run, my mom, step dad and I headed to the movies to catch X-Men: Days of Future Past. Admittedly, I haven’t seen an X-Men movie since maybe X-Men: The Last Stand in 2006 – and I’m a much bigger fan of the Avenger series – but it turned out to be really good. I grew up collecting comic book character cards, so it’s hard to go wrong with a solid Marvel movie.
  • The reason I’m a day late – almost two actually – is because work has straight up beat me down this week. Thursday night, I didn’t leave work until 7, headed straight to Chick Fil A to pick up dinner (no chance I was cooking), walked Harper, and laid down on the couch to read. Only the book never opened. I crashed and the next thing I know, it’s 1:30 in the morning. The good news is the guy who’s going to be my replacement for my old position started on Monday and he’s been excellent in the few times I’ve had to sit with him. I’m really excited with his potential. The bad news is that he’s in our new hire training for another week before he’s full time in the position, so I’m stuck trying to do my old job, my new job, and train a new employee in 40 hours a week. No chance that happens. It’s going to be a rough month or two.
  • My new role isn’t very technical which is going to be a big change for me. I’m going to be given all of the more technical-centric projects for the new group and I’m sure I’ll be helping the new guy out for awhile but my day-to-day role will no longer have my nose buried in data. To offset the change, I’m going to try and incorporate it back into my spare time with my Clemson database project and possibly a top 25 poll for the football season. With my new role being project management, I’ve got a new appreciation for how to plan changes and roll outs too. Gotta keep my skills sharp!
  • Somehow, I managed to miss the fact that there’s a 1100+ acre nature preserve nine miles southwest off of the same road my apartment’s on for two years. No idea how that happens. So Saturday, Harper and I took a trip to McDowell Nature Preserve on the North Carolina side of Lake Wylie. We hiked the 0.9 mile Kingfisher trail because it was one of the longer trails, started at a parking lot, and hugged the shoreline of the lake. I enjoyed the hike itself but the trail was terribly marked. There were several times I wound up at a dead end or noticing different color markers on the trees and would have to backtrack. So that worries me a bit for trying to take a stab at some of the interior trails where there isn’t a shoreline to help you out. But I do like that there’s a place in the woods that close for me to take Harper. We’ll definitely be heading back.

Until next week!

This entry was posted in What I Learned. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

