What I Learned: July 4

  • IPTAY dues are increasing this year. For you non-Clemson folk, IPTAY is Clemson’s athletic scholarship fund that allows donors to buy season tickets before they go on sale to the general public. It originally stood for I Pay Ten (dollars) A Year. The donor levels have been stagnant for ten years, so it’s hard to complain about a jump in cost now. But hey… no one likes paying more, right? I currently give at the Orange ($350) level which is going up to $400. I had been eying the Champion ($700) level, which is the next one up, but it’s going up to $800 and I’m not sure I’m that dedicated yet. Since I’m already on the books for 2014, there’s still plenty of time to debate – or save – for 2015.
  • I got crushed in the 2014 Trail Run Challenge 5K at the US National Whitewater Center. It poured the night before so the course was a little soft and it was incredibly humid under the trees. My first mile was a good pace at 9:54. Then the trail went into the woods and I got beat up. I finished in 36:04 and was a little bummed at first. But after checking out the results, I somehow slipped into 3rd place in my age group. A 34 year old finished 2nd overall with 25:25, two 33 year olds finished with a 28:29 and 33:00, and then me. I was 4 out of 5 for the 30-34 guys which would have placed me 5 out of 10 for the 30-34 gals. Not my strongest race… but I’ll proudly sport the medal!
    Trail Run Challenge 2014
  • I’m still struggling with my job transition. But I ran across two business resources that put me in a good place about my new position. The first is a LinkedIn article detailing the 10 things exceptional bosses provide their employees. The culture in my old group goes against many of those points, while my new group seems to embrace them. The second was an excerpt from The Amazon Way by John Rossman, a former leader within Amazon. It details 14 leadership principles practiced within Amazon from the top down.
  • I watched most of the US vs Belgium World Cup match on Tuesday. We seemed to be incredibly over matched in the 90 minutes of regulation but we limped to the finish line tied 0-0. In the 30 minutes of extra time, craziness ensued. Belgium scored within the first three minutes to put a damper on things. Then when we began sending more players forward to try and score a tying goal, Belgium got another to go up 2-0. In what’s usually a death sentence in soccer, the US’ youngest player scored a goal on his first World Cup touch 17 minutes in. Ultimately, the deficit was too much to overcome but it was fun watching the fire lit under our guys in those last 15 minutes. And our goalie, Tim Howard, played the game of his life in what may very well be his last national team appearance. He had 16 saves, which set a World Cup record. I love opportunities to be overly proud of my country.
  • My cousin was in town for some work training earlier this week. So I met her uptown at Mert’s Heart and Soul for dinner Monday night. It’s a quirky little soul food restaurant stuck in the middle of skyscrapers and chic bars and nightclubs. The beef ribs and salmon cakes appetizers weren’t terrible but I’m not sure I’d go out of my way to order them again. I had Carolina chopped BBQ with green beans and mac & cheese for my main course and it was delicious! Then Wednesday’s lunch roulette took us to the Diamond Restaurant. I had the Big Block Burger with bacon, cheese, and fries. The burger was amazing! Easily one of the top 3 burgers I’ve had in Charlotte. #Fatty

Heading home to Chapin for the holiday weekend. By the time this is posted, I should already be finished with a 4 mile run through downtown Columbia. The good news is that it’s at 7:44 am (for July 4th) so it shouldn’t be incredibly hot. The bad news is that it’s still running in the concrete jungle that is Columbia in July. Look for another slow time next week!

I hope everyone has a great 4th! Be safe!

This entry was posted in What I Learned. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What I Learned: July 4

  1. hopeclark says:

    Happy Fourth of July! Good job on the run. And that article about The Amazon Way was indeed awesome. Jeff Bezos is incredible. I’m an author, and many authors do not like Amazon, but I think they have succeeded in making the best mouse trap, and others should learn from them.

Leave a Reply

