Recapping 2013

Another year has come and gone. Overall, I thought it was a pretty good one. But before we ring in the new year tonight, let’s take a look at how we got here.

  • Clemson beat LSU in the Chick Fil A Bowl in the waning hours of 2012
  • I made it 6 months at my job, tying the length I was at my Raleigh job
  • I took a week-long trip to San Diego, California
  • I liked San Diego (the girl, not the city)
  • Fall Out Boy came back!
  • Harper got to play in the snow
  • I started Insanity. Then bailed a month in. Like every other workout program
  • My brother and sister in law both got jobs in Columbia, SC and bought their first house
  • I visited Crowder’s Mountain State Park
  • I received a good raise
  • My mom‘s second book came out
  • Silver Linings Playbook came out on DVD
  • Xbox One was announced
  • I unliked San Diego (the girl and the city)
  • I saw Fall Out Boy (amazing) and Mariana’s Trench (more amazing) in the same week
  • I went to the Lazy 5 Ranch for a 3 year old’s birthday party like a creep. But animals!
  • I re-signed my first lease
  • I made it a year at my job
  • My boss was fired
  • I lost over a year’s worth of pictures because my computer’s hard drive died
  • I ran in the ROC Race with coworkers
  • I went to the Clemson vs. Georgia football game. It’s the best game I’ve ever been to
  • My grandmother passed away
  • Roughly 12 hours later, my brother and sister in law had FJ, my nephew
  • The Office, Burn Notice, and Breaking Bad all ended their series
  • I liked the same girl from NC as last year
  • I went to the Clemson vs. Boston College football game with my old college roommate
  • I turned 31
  • I looked into buying a townhouse
  • I changed my mind. I didn’t buy a townhouse and I unliked the same girl from NC
  • I visited Landsford Canal State Park
  • Clemson lost to South Carolina for the 5th straight year. Yuck
  • I liked a girl in SC
  • I went against the grain and attended both my work and the shelter’s Christmas parties
  • I surprised my cousin in Augusta, Georgia at her college graduation
  • I’ll ring in the new year in Charlotte again with Harper in front of some football

Let’s also check in on those 2013 resolutions!

  • 350 Miles Run:
    • 4Q projection – 350
    • 4Q actual – 230
    • I’ve got good news and bad news. The good news is that I definitely picked up the pace during the last quarter by hitting 81 miles. The bad news is that even if I had averaged that all year, I still would have fallen short of my 350 mile mark by 26 miles. I lost a lot of time by doing Insanity in the first quarter though.
  • 26 Paychecks Earned:
    • 4Q projection – 26
    • 4Q actual – 26
    • Hooray! I worked my first full calendar year since 2009! Thursday is my 18 month mark, so I’ve tripled my time in Raleigh. Not counting the boss, I’m also the second most tenured one in my group. So I’ve carved out a nice little niche. Come this time next year, I may be itching for a move though.
  • 12 Books Read:
    • 4Q projection – 12
    • 4Q actual – 15
    • Well, I officially read nothing this quarter. Technically, I went backwards if you want to be picky since I gave up reading Wild. Since there was such a long layoff from when I started it, I figured I’d hit the reset button. To be fair though, once I hit the mark on this one, I pretty much gave up to work on other resolutions.
  • 50 Hours Volunteered:
    • 4Q projection – 50:00
    • 4Q actual – 50:45
    • I finally crossed the 50 hour barrier on my last shift of the year. And that’s not counting the 3 hour Christmas potluck. I feel like I’ve finally settled in at the shelter. I’ve got a buddy on my Sunday shifts now. I’ve trained several other dog walkers (who have also gone on to start training… which is kind of cool). I never thought the volunteering bug would bite me growing up. Now look at me.
  • 4 Trips Planned:
    • 4Q projection – 4
    • 4Q actual – 3
    • I’m a little torn on how to rule this one. San Diego in January definitely counts. I may have stretched the rules a bit to count the Clemson vs. Georgia game since I left on Saturday and didn’t get back until early Sunday morning. I want to count Crowder’s Mountain and Landsford Canal State Park. They were only day trips but Harper and I went hiking and picture taking both times. Maybe I’ll compromise and say each one of those counts as half. My focus in 2014 is on improving this greatly.
  • 2 Posts Written:
    • 4Q projection – 104
    • 4Q actual – 71
    • I fell just a little short on this one. I struggled some weeks to come up with five bullet points on my “What I Learned” entry, so I knew early on I was going to have a hard time getting two per week posted. I’m going to try to change things up some next year to get the post count higher.
  • 80 Percent Achieved:
    • 4Q projection – 5 games
    • 4Q actual – 6 games
    • Another resolution I’m taking creative liberties with. Both The Wolf Among Us and Walking Dead: Season Two and I finished them at 100%. But it’s only one episode of each series, so I’m still missing eight total episodes. But they’re not out yet. And I will definitely finish them when they’re released because both series are excellent stories. Other than that, I’m at 13% on Bully and 33% on Grand Theft Auto. I also have two Batman games to get underway. But technically, I’ve got my six games finished!
  • 1 Date Taken:
    • 4Q projection – 1
    • 4Q actual – 2
    • I locked this one up with a trip to San Diego and a San Diego trip to Charlotte. Like my reading resolution, once this one was finished, I put my focus elsewhere. I did take an hour and a half drive for a two and a half hour Starbucks coffee hot chocolate meet up. But that’s not in date territory yet, so we’ll settle for two this year.

By my count, that’s four resolutions I overachieved, three I underachieved, and one I met exactly. I’m okay with that, as it shows both accomplishment and room for improvement. How did your 2013 go? Did you meet your goals?

I hope y’all have a safe and enjoyable New Years celebration! Thanks for following along in 2013 and I wish you have a safe, prosperous 2014!

This entry was posted in Resolutions. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Recapping 2013

  1. Hope Clark says:

    My one big resolution was writing related. Three books: 1) writer and publisher The Shy Writer Reborn (done); 2) edit Palmetto Poison for 2014 release (done); 3) write the first draft of Edisto Diamond (2 chapters short of done). I’m pretty good with that. Could have done better, but some of your life, and your brother’s life, and other lives crossed into mine. Next year: 1) release Palmetto Poison; 2) finalize edits on Edisto Diamond; 3) first draft on two other books. Less travel, more writing. I love how you keep up with so much. Nice job, Nanu, Solid year.

Leave a Reply

