What I Learned: December 20

  • I absolutely adore this story behind NORAD’s Santa Tracker. Not only do I think it’s wild that a simple typo in a 1955 Sears ad could lead to a phone call to a highly secret and classified phone line. But I think it’s pretty amazing that the officer had the wherewithal to realize what was happening and improvise. Pretty neat.
  • I feel like I’m struggling to keep up with Christmas this year! I stumbled upon my annual wrapping idea fairly late, almost missed the deadline to order the right paper, and almost didn’t get it in time. Don’t worry, you’ll get pictures. I’m still missing a present for my grandfather, brother, and step mom. One for my mom, step dad, and nephew won’t be delivered on time. And of course, we’ll be scattered everywhere with my dad and step mom in town Monday night, Christmas with my mom and step dad Tuesday, then down to Charleston for round three with my grandparents. Busy, busy, busy!
  • I’m not sure how I feel about this Apple ad. At first, I thought it was pretty clever. They’re trying to play up the idea that just because this kid is spending the holidays with his nose stuck in his phone, he isn’t ignoring his family or doing something cool for them. But regardless of the intention, isn’t he still missing out? They’re promoting that it’s okay to ignore the time spent with your family as long as you’re doing something cool with their products. Not sure I buy into that mentality.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ImlmVqH_5HM
  • I’m not a fan of Christmas parties. It always seems like it’s an excuse for everyone to show up, show off their spouse to people who probably don’t care, and get a little too drunk in hopes that they’re not the one person the office talks about the next day. But this year, our company held a glorified happy hour at Olde Mecklenburg Brewery last night. So I made the last minute decision – as in a couple of hours before it started – to go. Some probably still got a little too tipsy but I had a good time hanging out with the coworkers. My crew’s a pretty good group of people.
  • He’ll definitely go down in history as a huge nerd but I’ve always been a fan of Bill Gates. Reddit apparently has an annual Secret Santa gift exchange and one user was surprised to find out hers was the billionaire himself. He gifted something that was both unique for the Reddit user and in line with his philanthropic endeavors. Not to mention the idea of Bill Gates browsing the Reddit forums seems pretty surreal. I’m always a fan of stories like that.

I’m excited for Christmas, family, and having a week off of work to enjoy it all. So I hope you have an excellent holiday and have just as much, if not more, to look forward to.

Merry Christmas!

This entry was posted in What I Learned. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What I Learned: December 20

  1. Hope Clark says:

    Santa and NORAD is cool. For once, I knew that item in your post. I had also seen the Apple ad, and like you, have mixed feelings about it. It was a nice surprise, but what did he miss??? A better idea might be for everyone to take turns taking pics for the final compilation. That was HE is in the film. Looking forward to you coming home! Harper has a present.

Leave a Reply

