What I Learned: December 6

  • Clemson sucks. They lost to South Carolina… for the 5th consecutive time… for the first time in the history of the rivalry. So yeah, that’s a whole lot of fun. I’m done.
  • Now that Thanksgiving is over, I’ve officially shifted into Christmas mode. I launched a Christmas station on Spotify and vacuumed my apartment Tuesday night so that I could put up my Christmas tree! That also coincides with Harper’s annual confusion and pouting that her bed gets moved in favor of the tree. But she wanted to pose anyways.
    2013 Christmas Tree
    P.S. In case you were wondering, yes, the lights start orange at the bottom and fade into purple at the top. And yes, I only have Clemson ornaments on the tree. And yes, that is a tiger on the top.
  • With the end of the year right around the corner, I’ve been thinking about resolutions a lot lately – both wrapping up the ones I had set for 2013 and brainstorming what I want to try and accomplish in 2014. It doesn’t look like I’m going to hit all of my marks for this year but isn’t that the point of setting goals? Some should be simple, some should make you push yourself to work for them, and some may slip away from you if you’re not 100% committed. I’m liking what I’ve got planned for 2014 though.
  • I had some downtime Wednesday night, so I geek’d it up and downloaded the first episode of Telltale Games’ The Wolf Among Us. I know nothing about Fables, the comic the game is based on, but the idea is pretty interesting – all of the characters from fairy tales and fables have been run out of their homelands and have formed a community in New York City. Bigby (the Big Bad Wolf) is the sheriff. Snow White is a a member of the government. Bufkin, a winged monkey from Oz, is the librarian. It’s all a really cool premise told excellently by Telltale Games. 
  • I did a lot better than I thought in the Turkey Trot last week. I signed up for the 8K (4.97 miles for you non-Euros) just on the sheer principle to see if I could do it. I had run 5 miles the weekend beforehand to give myself an idea of how I’d do. I couldn’t run the entire distance and struggled at the end. But on Thursday, I ran the whole way and finished in 50:35. That was good enough for 2909th overall (out of 3750) and 212th (out of 240) in my age group. To counter my unimpressiveness, there were two (!!) 90 year old women: one who finished in 1:09:05 (WHAT!) and the other in 1:29:12. Amazing!

With this possibly being my last weekend in Charlotte for 2013, I plan on taking it easy. I’m probably going to volunteer both Saturday and Sunday to make up some Resolution hours at the shelter. There’s going to be some serious online Christmas shopping to try and get a handle on that. And finishing off my Thanksgiving leftovers after eating turkey, sweet potato casserole, and stuffing for a week straight.

Happy Friday, guys!

This entry was posted in What I Learned. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What I Learned: December 6

  1. hopeclark says:

    Poor Clemson. That was not a fun game to watch. And your running in fantastic, regardless of your placement in the bunch. At least you beat the 90 year olds! And where’s Harper’s Christmas bow or jingle bell collar?

Leave a Reply

