What I Learned: October 4

  • The United States government is a complete joke right now. Don’t get me wrong – I’m eternally grateful that our political system has the checks and balances in place that prevent one party (or person) from negligently forcing their agenda in times like these. I’m also very aware of how lucky we are that there is no threat of coup, military presence, or any other act of force many other countries may have faced in a similar situation. But when 535 representatives and congressman can’t work together because they’re spoiled, entitled, whiny brats and the leader of the most powerful country in the world resorts to snide remarks and immature graphics instead of doing his damn job, it’s a sad day for America.
  • Fall Out Boy officially announced a new punk EP due out October 15th! So after being gone for three years, Fall Out Boy come out with the pop-heavy Save Rock and Roll in April, a punk-heavy PAX AM Days in October, and their country-infused episode of CMT Crossroads with The Band Perry (love them too!) in November! Such a fun, eclectic year to be a Fall Out Boy fan!
  • The series finale of Breaking Bad was excellent. I’m pretty bummed that what’s lauded as one of the best shows ever made is over. But I enjoyed how Vince Gilligan decided to end the show. Nearly every story arc was rapped up or concluded in some fashion which is incredibly satisfying as an invested viewer. Now I have no idea what to watch. I’ve heard good things about Friday Night Lights. And The Wire is almost always mentioned in the same breath as Breaking Bad. So I may be putting Netflix to work in the near future.
  • I ran across two articles? blogs? group of thoughts? posts this week that were just fun, entertaining pieces to read. The first – The Unofficial Goldman Sachs Guide To Being A Man – reminded me of Harvey from Suits. But it also makes me realize how much different people – guys in particular – are nowadays.

    Measure yourself only against your previous self.

    The second – 15 Things Every Adult Needs – is great advice, especially to the wanderlust generation in their 20s and 30s. Lists like that make life so much more fun!

    Something to wear if the love of your life calls and wants to see you tonight.

  • I’m in a confident mood lately. I’ve got a great handle on work at the moment. I’ve been consistently running and it’s been amazing outside. I’ve had some conversations this week that were good. I get to try a new restaurant next week with a friend. It’s just a good time, smiling and finishing!

I’m heading down to Chapin for a slew of things to celebrate. First up is my mom’s birthday from this past week. Harper’s 3rd birthday is Friday. The FJ is making his first trip out to the lake. Clemson’s making their first trip to Syracuse. And hey, it’s payday!

Let’s do this, October!

This entry was posted in What I Learned. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What I Learned: October 4

  1. hopeclark says:

    Best month of the year!!!! Monkey bread for breakfast Sunday!!!

Leave a Reply

