What I Learned: August 23

  • I really enjoyed the Trail Run Challenge 5K last Saturday. I did a lot better than I had planned on, given that it’s a trail run instead of a road race. It didn’t hurt that it was 65 degrees and cloudy either. It felt amazing outside. I finished at 32:01 (32:12 clock time). The last time I ran the course – October 2012 with my cousin – my time was 38:59. Dropping almost 7 minutes from my time ain’t so shabby!

    Trail Run Challenge

    P.S. I love the shirts!

  • I couldn’t ever get going this week. Monday started out swimmingly with a migraine. Luckily, the brunt of it hit before I woke up so I just felt terrible instead of feeling like death. I managed to still get in to work by 10am, so not all was lost. But that messed up my flow for the week. Work was slow or I couldn’t find the motivation or it was gloomy outside. One hurdle after another. So here’s to hoping this weekend serves as a giant reset button for the end of August.
  • I gave the Maki Taco food truck a shot this Wednesday at work. My company does a pretty good job at trying to keep the employees engaged and happy. So they try to have at least a couple of food trucks swing by every week or two. I had the teriyaki chicken tacos. The good news is that they were excellent. The bad news is that they were not $8 excellent.
  • I don’t understand people’s taste in movies. I had a coupon for a free on-demand movie through Time Warner, so I picked Mud with Matthew McConaughey. I was intrigued and it had a 98% rating on RottenTomatoes. It wasn’t bad but it wasn’t amazing either. It was free, so I can’t complain, but I’m not sure I would have wanted to spend money on it. Then, on the other end of the spectrum, I went to see Jobs Sunday because I legitimately wanted to see it. It too fell into the “not terrible, not terrific” category. But RottenTomatoes gave it a 26%. Given the two, I’d choose Jobs over Mud. I left the theater wanting to read Steve Jobs’ biography.
  • I started reading Wild by Cheryl Strayed Wednesday night and I already know I’m in trouble. It’s a memoir about Cheryl’s trip on the Pacific Coast Trail (the West Coast’s Appalachian Trail) after her mother died of cancer and she wanted to find herself. I barely made it through the prologue before wanting to pick up my journal from my trip and start outlining my tale. She hasn’t even started hiking in the story yet and I’m already getting an itch to travel somewhere. There’s just something about wilderness travel memoirs/biographies that get me going. First it was A Long Trek Home, then Hiking Through, both Into The Wild & Into Thin Air, to some extent A Walk In The Woods, and now Wild.

And so begins my last non-college football weekend of 2013. By this time next week, the season will be under way after the North Carolina/South Carolina game kicks things off on Thursday night. To celebrate, I’m doing another shift of training at the animal shelter on Saturday. Then Sunday, I’ve got the ROC Race up at the Charlotte Motor Speedway. I’m running with two girls from work, so it should be interesting. Unfortunately, our team (Prestige Worldwide) has a start time at 11am. On August 24th. In the South. Fortunately, the temperature’s “only” supposed to be 81, making it the coolest day this weekend. Oh… and we’re going to look damn good doing it!

ROC Race

You can never go wrong with a Will Ferrell reference

This entry was posted in What I Learned. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to What I Learned: August 23

  1. Hope Clark says:

    Glad to see you running steady. But you never mentioned Harper. We want more pics of Harper!

Leave a Reply

