What I Learned: July 26

  • I finally kicked my “these books are terrible” streak. Last weekend, I finished Joyland by Stephen King and it was excellent. Easily one of my top three favorite King books. It’s a Hard Case Crime book, so it’s got a “someone has killed girls near fairs/amusement parks/carnivals and is still on the loose” angle to it. But the book’s mainly about the lead character growing up during a summer job in between college semesters after his first heartbreak. I also thought King absolutely nailed the ending, which is something he’s known for missing more often hitting. I love this line:

    “People think first love is sweet, and never sweeter than when that first bond snaps. […] Yet that first broken heart is always the most painful, the slowest to mend, and leaves the most visible scar. What’s so sweet about that?”

  • Earlier this week, I think I stumbled on to an idea for this year’s Halloween costume. It might not be as extravagant as my Willy Wonka or Joker years were but I think it’s pretty good. I’ll run the risk of some people not recognizing who I am but it will also be a fairly cheap ($30-ish?) costume with things I’ll be able to reuse. I’m pumped!
  • I’m in a weird place with people lately. I’ve always been somewhat of an extreme roller coaster of a friend when it comes to relationships – going short periods of time of intense friendship, talking daily, confiding in, and forming close bonds followed by long droughts of little to no contact with no desire to keep in touch. It’s like I radically swap out best friends every two or three months. Right now, everything seems backwards. People I’m not usually close with – mainly coworkers – are the ones I’ve felt most comfortable with lately. Then there are people I’ve been really close with this year who I haven’t spoken with in weeks or months. It’s funny what makes me tick…
  • We had a conversation at work about passports and taking trips. I found it interesting what everyone considered a vacation. One girl only uses a travel agent and goes to all-inclusive resorts in Mexico, Caribbean Islands, etc where she can eat, drink, and play without going anywhere. Another guy goes on cruises. The youngin’ doesn’t seem to go on trips unless it’s still with her parents and sisters. One guy doesn’t have much interest in traveling. And there was me who likes to stay stateside and avoid the heavily-touristy-beaten path on solo trips. Everyone was probably thinking how boring everyone else’s vacation ideas sounded. People are fascinating.
  • I’m getting the writing itch again. It started with this article from The Atlantic about a conversation with Stephen King on the importance of voice and an opening that hooks the readers. I already know my main problem is going to be that I enjoy the journey way more than the end product. So actually having a finished book or even going back to edit a work I’ve finished up isn’t exciting to me. After the novelty of writing something larger than a blog post wore off, I’d bore easily and move on. 2014 Resolution idea perhaps?

After multiple $100+ purchases (truck battery, a headboard, new tires) the last two weekends, my goal is to hole myself up and spend as little money as possible this weekend. Which is a little ironic since one of my goals is to try and plan out a late fall trip (November-ish?) to the Dry Tortugas National Park. Don’t spend money so I can stay in and plan new ways to spend money? Yeah, it makes no sense. Do I drive? Do I fly? Do I fly into Miami or the Keys? Do I try to see more parks (Everglades, Biscayne, etc)? So much planning, so much fun!

Have a good one, guys!

This entry was posted in What I Learned. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What I Learned: July 26

  1. hopeclark says:

    Love it when my offspring want to write. You all write well, you know. But your words: “I enjoy the journey way more than the end product.” is so rare for many writers. Too many look up from the task too early, hunting for that publishing deal on the horizon, way before they should. If you enjoy the journey, then enjoy the journey. It doesn’t have to be published. And if it makes it that far, I’ll help you do it.

    I think your fall trip is friggin’ awesome. Just wish you’d take someone with you. I’d sleep easier at night.

  2. hopeclark says:

    Life Lessons—Don’t Miss the Journey Looking for the Destination thewriteconversation.blogspot.com/2013/07/life-lessonsdont-miss-journey-looking.html

Leave a Reply

