What I Learned: June 7

  • Burn Notice is back! Like seemingly every other show I watch, it just kicked off the season premiere for the last season. Fortunately, writers normally hit it out of the park when they know they have to wrap up a series. Unfortunately, that also means there’s typically a stretch of 3, 4-ish episodes in the second half of the season where they seem to just phone it in and limp to the finish line. But last night’s episode seemed to get everything off to a good start.
  • I’m not a very good teacher. I’ve always had the problem of being really good at things and almost never being able to tell someone else how I understand or what makes me good at them. I love math and minored in it in college, yet I struggled explaining solutions to my brother or nephew whenever they needed help. Saturday, I trained a new volunteer at the shelter. Luckily, walking dogs isn’t rocket science but after finishing up the session, I left thinking of all of the talking points I missed or glanced over.
  • Esquire put out a list of 75 books every man should read. Oddly enough, I’ve only read a handful of those books. So clearly, I’m fighting the urge to start at the top and start working my way down. Damn you, lists! It doesn’t help that the book I’m reading now (Lost & Found by Jacqueline Sheehan) is not very good either. Time to start crossing books off!
  • It’s apartment hunting time! My lease runs out at the end of August and I got the “Let us know what you’re planning” letter in my door this week. Apparently I have to sign a new lease or give them written notice I’m leaving at least 60 days prior to my lease ending. I thought it was 30. Oops! For whatever reason, the prices quoted to me are cheaper for 10 and 11 month leases than 12 months. No idea how that makes sense.
  • In a small venue, Marianas Trench completely outshines Fall Out Boy. FOB’s music will always hold a special place in my heart (clearly…) but after seeing MT on Wednesday, it was obvious that FOB has grown too big for the small, local concert halls. To be fair, Josh Ramsey (MT’s frontman) is so much more of a showman than Patrick Stump or Pete Wentz, so the energy was much higher. But MT outperformed FOB in the same venue, 4 days apart, with at least 2/3 less people. There’s more on that later…

Impromptu apartment hunting Saturday morning. And another potluck lunch at work coming up this week, so there’s a good chance there will be a trial run for a new cookie recipe I found. I’ll let you know how they turn out.

Until then, same bat time, same bat channel.

This entry was posted in What I Learned. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What I Learned: June 7

  1. Hope says:

    Awww, sorry about the book. I know you pulled it out of my pile. I had it given to me, and I thought it okay to finish…a decent ending…but nothing to write home about.

Leave a Reply

