What I Learned: April 19

  • The explosions (bombing doesn’t feel like the right word…) on Monday at the Boston Marathon struck a chord with me that isn’t struck very often. Part of it, I’m sure, is that I just finished a 10K with close to 40,000 people entered in Charleston a little more than a week ago. The images hit close to home because my own experience for crossing the finish line were so vivid and recent. But another part is because a running blogger I follow (RunningWithKaren.com) posted her experience with the canceled NYC Marathon a short six months ago. And her guest entry yesterday was chilling. They’re extremely different circumstances but both marathons are now tied together by polarizing, highly emotional events.
  • I’ve been mesmerized by this video (taken by The Boston Globe’s Steve Silva) because of the wide range of emotions. Sheer curiosity. Sympathy for the runners, volunteers, and victims. Amazement at how many emergency personnel instantly run straight towards the explosions. I’ll never fully understand people – good or bad.

  • With all of the bad though, it’s amazing how good a solid run can do you. I picked back up a casual running schedule this week. Four miles so far with another four to six on tap this weekend. The weather and sunlight certainly helps the mood too. And to think… someone at work asked me on Monday after the marathon news broke if it would stop me from running. Hardly. I saw a quote on Facebook that was spot on:

If you’re trying to defeat the human spirit, marathoners are the wrong group of people to target. – Mighty Brighties

  • Our company switched insurance companies and open enrollment is going on this month. Sure, it’s cheaper. Sure, there are more options. Sure, they listened to the employee suggestions. But excuse me while I take a completely selfish minute to complain about how annoying it is for a healthy individual with an HSA account that will now have to close one account down (which I’m not 100% sure on how to access that…), open a new one, transfer the money into the new account, never use it for the 2013 calendar year, and probably have to do the entire process all over again next year when my employer switches companies again. Ugh! #FirstWorldProblems #SelfishWhinyHealthyWhiteBoyProblems
  • I am in total fanboy mode this week. Fall Out Boy’s album Save Rock and Roll came out Tuesday. When I got home from buying the CD (they still make those?), I listened to the whole thing while reading through the liner notes (they still make those?). I listen to it going to and from work in my truck. I listen to it at least once on my iPod at work each day. And despite my money-saving oath to not buy over-priced, secondary-market tickets, I broke down and paid $84 (in addition to a ridiculous $12 for shipping charge and $16 “convenience fee”) per ticket for two tickets to the show in Charlotte on June 1. But dammit, I’m going to have an amazing time there!

I’m going into full grownup mode this weekend. I need to sit down and figure out this insurance junk Saturday. There’s a strong possibility I’m going to tweak some Roth IRA investment money and look for my mountain land too. Then Sunday, I might be heading to Raleigh to help my brother, sister in law, and FJ (Fetus Jerdan) pack up and move.

At least the weather will be gorgeous!

This entry was posted in What I Learned. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to What I Learned: April 19

  1. Karen says:

    Wow! Thanks for the shout out. Much appreciated! Yes, the guest post written by someone in the marathon was chilling to say the least. I had to share it because I thought it was so well written and definitely conveyed how it felt to someone there.

    And speaking as someone that buys health insurance every year for my family, I can totally sympathize with your health insurance woes. It’s such a maze and so difficult to sort out. It drives me nuts. Good luck!

    • No problem! I had that part completely written out before Thursday rolled around just because I was instantly reminded of your account of the NYC marathon. But I had to include the guest post!

  2. hopeclark says:

    Yep, you’re spoiled. LOL

Leave a Reply

