1st Quarter Report

What’s something every business does for its customers?

Aside from take their money. I’m still trying to figure out a way to get you guys to pay me…

They provide quarterly reports to let them know how they’re doing. Numbers are a good way to show progress and hold those in charge accountable. We’ve been over this before. So why don’t we take a look at how those pesky New Years Resolutions are coming along?

  • 350 Miles:
    • 1Q projection – 87.5
    • 1Q actual – 19.0
    • This one has all but fallen by the wayside. And unless something ridiculous happens and I start putting in some serious miles, my first resolution made will also be the first resolution not met. That’s not to say I haven’t been exercising though. I’ve just been doing Insanity inside instead of running outside. The Cooper River Bridge Run is next weekend (6.2 miles) though. And I fully intend to take part in Running With Karen’s Virtual 5K (I’ve just been super lazy about sending you an email, Karen!). So more miles will be logged. Just probably not 350 of them.
  • 26 Paychecks:
    • 1Q projection – 6.5
    • 1Q actual – 6
    • Tuesday marks my 9th month with my company, so I’ve made it 1.5 times longer here than my last job. Baby steps in the right direction! And despite a few dust ups with frustrating office politics, everything’s going well. No reason this one shouldn’t be met.
  • 12 Books:
  • 50 Hours:
    • 1Q projection – 12.5
    • 1Q actual – 14.25
    • Ahead of schedule in volunteer hours too! This one is fairly easy to keep up with as long as I’m getting in one or two shifts a month. With nothing set in stone scheduled for the foreseeable future, I ought to be make a heavy dent in this one by the time summer rolls around.
  • 4 Trips:
    • 1Q projection – 1
    • 1Q actual – 1
    • I’m only counting overnight trips to fun places. Weekend trips back home don’t count. Or heading to Charleston for the Bridge Run since I do that every year. I went to Crowders Mountain State Park Saturday but I’m not counting that since I was just there to hike a mile up and a mile back. San Diego definitely counts though. And since San Diego is extending her DC stay (confused yet?), hopefully, I’ll be able to make a weekend trip there at some point. I need to get a camping trip in the books too. Maybe I’ll be ahead of schedule by the end of June.
  • 2 Posts:
    • 1Q projection – 26
    • 1Q actual – 20
    • So I’m a little behind on averaging two blog posts a week. But not so far back (like the running bullet point) that I can’t catch up. San Diego posts put me way ahead but I’ve slacked off since then. In hopes of rectifying that, I’m toying with taking a break from Facebook and concentrating on the blog instead. I already have three drafts for posts I want to make. Ideas for blog topics are always welcome as well.
  • 80 Percent:
    • 1Q projection – 1.25 games
    • 1Q actual – 0 games
    • The single guy nerd resolution. The idea is to get 80% achievements on five games. Judging by my Xbox page, I’ve played five games in 2013: Dance Central, NCAA Football 2012, Halo 4, Cabela’s Survival, and Tomb Raider. DC is at 46%, NCAA at 72%, Halo 4 at 67% (which is deceiving because it was over 80% at one point in 2012 but they’ve added more achievements), Cabela’s at 3% (this doesn’t count… it’s my step dad’s game he got as a gift. It has a gun though. So that’s fun), and TR is at 54%. Most of those should be doable. And there are still a few games coming out later this year I plan on picking up: GTA V, Watch Dogs, South Park, Destiny, maybe BioShock. I’m still confident in this one.
  • 1 Date:
    • 1Q projection – 0.25?
    • 1Q actual – 2
    • I win at this one! The second half of the San Diego trip pretty much counted as a date. I was told it counted as one, anyways. And when you’re told you’re on a date, you count it on your New Years Resolution blogs! I was informed of #2 as well. Apparently buying a girl a hamburger and tater tots counts as a date. Piece of cake! Now I just need buying concert tickets, football game tickets, and camp site reservations to count and I’ll be a happy(ier?) boy.

How are your resolutions going?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 1st Quarter Report

  1. hopeclark says:

    Since you’re doing Insanity, why not convert your miles to calories burned? You had me confused at first. Didn’t know what 350 miles meant until I read further and didn’t know what posts was until you defined “per week.” That’s the editor in me!

    • I haven’t been keeping up with calories burned for Insanity, so not sure how I’d go back and get those. And it’s not my fault you don’t care enough about your oldest son to keep up with his blog posts from January 😉

      • hopeclark says:

        Well, if your own mother can’t keep up, how do you expect your bloggers to keep up? :p

Leave a Reply

