What I Learned: December 14

  •  I have a completely irrational fear of picking a dry cleaner, it seems. I need to have my work clothes laundered and pressed at a dry cleaners because it’s entirely too much effort to wash and iron them myself. But I keep reading reviews on Yelp, Google, etc. How much is too much? When do you go the laundry route versus dry cleaning? What if a button breaks? Do I leave my collar stays in or take them out? I’ve had “pick a dry cleaners” on my list of things to do for at least two weeks. I’m being dumb.
  • Work is getting intense. Last week, I was there late every day except Monday. This week, I’ve stayed late every day but Thursday. It seems like every department I help out needs something urgent done yesterday. Just have to keep my head above water until the holidays!
  • I have no qualms about skipping out on my company’s Christmas party. I know it does me no favors with rubbing elbows with the company brass. It’s just not me. I’ve listened to everyone get excited about who can get the most drink tickets, the various spouses, girlfriends, and boyfriends everyone wants to meet, and half-jokingly taking bets on who will make the biggest fool of themselves. Why is this a thing people look forward to?
  • The Nook is a deceivingly addictive little toy. I got mine two years ago and I just recently started using it on a regular basis. I found the GoodReads app and have been updating the books I’ve read. The Twitter app is actually really impressive. I like it much better than the iPhone app. Oddly enough, I’ve only read one book on it. Well, two if you count an early copy of my mom’s second book. Once I finish the book I’m working on now, I’ll start chipping away at my Barnes & Noble wishlist.
  • This week’s entry has been the hardest one in a long time. I’ve struggled to get through five bullet points… and this fifth one doesn’t even really count. I’m completely off my game. I’ve mentally checked out on this week and it shows. So I give up!

I think I’m flipping the Christmas switch this weekend. I’m not one of those people who can sleep, eat, and breathe the Christmas spirit for a solid month (much less two or three, given how early stores start putting up the decorations). But this weekend, I’m switching my Spotify station over to the Christmas music and decking me some halls. It’s time to finish up the shopping, start wrapping presents, and bake the heck out of some melted snowmen cookies for Monday’s potluck at work.

Have a fantastic weekend!

This entry was posted in What I Learned. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to What I Learned: December 14

  1. Hope Clark says:

    Sounds like somebody needs to give you some B&N gift cards for that Nook! And no mention of Harper! Glad you’re cranking up the spirit this weekend. BTW, just launder and iron the shirts. Tell them if a button is missing and let them handle the stays. Love you.

Leave a Reply

