What I Learned This Week: July 27

  • Delinquent hazard lines of insurance! I’m working with one of our insurance guys on pulling reports for his group. So I learned all about hazard insurance, flood zones, and all sorts of other mortgage things I’ve never had the need to know.
  • I’ve given up trying to figure out the pulse of our country. The Aurora, Colorado shooting is a tragedy. But then Warner Brothers canceled the Paris premiere of the movie (Do they think the movie caused the violence? What correlation does Paris have with Aurora?). And President Obama felt the need to visit the town (Can we say campaign opportunity, boys and girls?). As if the local police force needed the additional stress of preparing the area for a Presidential visit. And now, one of the victims is planning to sue… get this… the theater, the murderer’s doctors, and Warner Brothers. Excuse the language but what the hell? As a collective whole, are we really that sensitive of a community now that when a terrible event occurs, the rest of the country stops to sensationalize every little detail? I don’t understand our society anymore.
  • I think Tuesday is my least favorite day of the week. Every Tuesday I’ve been at work has either been excruciatingly long, I’ve been sleepy, the workload’s been slow, or a combination of the three.
  • This blogging schedule’s going to be harder to keep than I thought. It was a busy week outside of work though. A lot of wheeling, dealing, and haggling with apartment complexes. A South Carolina issue popped up. I started running again too. It’s good because I enjoy it… bad because it takes up blogging time. I’ll get better though.
  • I’m reading Charlie and the Chocolate Factory by Roald Dahl. I’m a HUGE fan of the movie (it’s…the Gene Wilder version… easily in my top 5 favorite of all time) but I never realized how amazing the book was. When (if?) I ever have kids, it’s on the list of books to read aloud to them. I’m almost 30 years old and there are parts I have read out loud just to hear how great some of the passages are written and painted. I think the book does a better job of teaching lessons but the story is so much better in the movie.

Let’s just say this weekend’s going to be good blogging material for next week… Enjoy it!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to What I Learned This Week: July 27

  1. Karen says:

    I LOVE Charlie and the Chocolate factory! Read it as a kid and think I should dust it off to read to my girls. Thanks for the hint.

    As to Aurora, I can understand why Obama visited besides for the obvious campaign op. I am by no stretch of the imagination an Obama fan (to be very clear- I would vote for Kermit the Frog over Obama in November), but he’s still the leader of this country, like it or not, and in times of difficulty the leader should lead. I’m not sure if seeing him after a tragedy like that would help me, but it probably made some of the victims feel better and showed some solidarity from the rest of the country. That’s my 2 cents. 🙂

    • Enjoy the book with your daughters!

      I guess I’m just of the mindset that the role of “bringer-togetherer” (technical term, I know…) should be played by the local community members (governor, mayor, sheriff, etc), as they clearly have the most impact on the strength of the community.

      • Karen says:

        Totally understand your point of view! Obama would probably make me feel worse in that situation, but I’m giving him the benefit of the doubt on this one.

  2. Oh yes, great book. Great author. Did you know he fought in WWII and was a spy/intelligence officer? His love for chocolate came from the fact the big chocolate company Cadbury sent chocolates to his school for taste testing by the students, and he used to dream about impressing whoever was in charge of the company. Cool, very talented man.

    As for Obama, sorry, he didn’t need to go to Colorado. I agree, campaign move. Phone calls would have sufficed to the appropriate parties.

    As for the SC comment by your co-worker, she’s more than welcome to leave the state. I’m of the mind that if you don’t like where you live, move —whether that means country, state, town or subdivision.

    I rather like your weekly summation!

Leave a Reply

