Revisiting the Bucket Resolutions

So back in January, I started a resolution bucket list of sorts. And as of this entry, it’s up to ten accomplishments, goals, and adventures which I think is where it’ll stay until I can start crossing items off. What’s the point of a goal if your list of goals is so long it’s impossible to tackle them?

But since it’s been awhile since I’ve gone through them, I figured I’d post an update on where I stand with them.

  1. Travel to Hawaii
    • No progress here. The longer I’m out of work though, the more I might consider a trip into the middle of the Pacific for several days
  2. Own a cabin in the mountains
    • Again, there’s no progress here. Since I’m out of a job, I’m currently out of a source of income. And mountain cabins don’t grow on trees!
  3. Cut back on Facebook/Twitter/Useless-Internet-Surfing
    • This has been a roller coaster. I did really well for awhile. But then I fell back into my old habits and spent most of my time in the apartment online. But last Thursday, I deactivated my Facebook account. And I have been concentrating more on job hunting and designing my webpage. So as of now, it looks like I’m back on track.
  4. Clemson season tickets
    • I didn’t buy full season tickets this year but I did put an order in for several games. I’ve got four tickets to the Clemson/Auburn game in Atlanta on September 1 to open the season. NC State plays Tennessee Friday, August 31 in Atlanta too so there’s a good chance a group of us will try to make that one as well. Speaking of NC State, I have four tickets to the NC State game in Clemson on November 17th. Feel free to let me know if you want to tag along as all of the tickets aren’t accounted for yet!
  5. Run a half-marathon
    • I ran my 5th consecutive (6th overall) Bridge Run on March 31st. It was rough since the start was delayed by an hour. I finished though! I wasn’t overly excited about my time since it wasn’t under an hour (1:04). But it’s only a 10K, not a half marathon. I haven’t done much running since then, so no progress here. I plan on picking a running schedule back up though. It will take me getting a date on calendar to really take this serious.
  6. Clemson stats website
    • I’m not ready to unleash any of the pages into the wild yet but I have been working on this. I almost have the main page finished. I think I’m going to turn it into a Clemson-related blog (as if there aren’t enough of those), so I need to work on a template for updating the text. But it shouldn’t be too long before I have a working site. I’m excited about this one.
  7. Keep a daily journal
    • 100% abiding by this one. Every single day of 2012, I have written an entry in my journal. Almost all of them are at least a page long. It’s probably one of the reasons I’ve been slack on the blog.
  8. Adopt a 2nd dog
    • I had a friend suggest I should pick up another puppy, given my new amounts of free time. But I’m waiting for Harper to get a little older (she’s 19 months old) and to settle down a little before going that route. She still has a lot of puppy in her. And from my recent trips to the dog park, she’s becoming a lot more assertive and rough houses with other dogs now. Maybe in another 12-18 months though!
  9. Picaboo Book
    • I was doing really well on this for awhile. I spent several weekends in a row working on it. But I’ve been a bit slack on this lately. I have everything through September and a day or two into October done though. Slowly but surely!
  10. Read a book per month
    • Who: Yours truly
    • When: At least once a month
    • Where: Anywhere a book will go
    • Why: I’m a big believer in reading. It keeps your mind sharp and constantly learning. I also have an entire shelf of books I haven’t read yet and an ever-growing list of books on my Nook’s wishlist.
    • Progress: The Dante Club by Matthew Pearl was first on the list. It took me forever to get through the book! But it was a solid story. Lowcountry Bribe by C Hope Clark (my momma!) was next. After struggling through The Dante Club, I flew through this one. And even though I’m a little biased, I really enjoyed Lowcountry Bribe. The plot twist was definitely unexpected. I read Marley & Me by John Grogan next. The movie was incredibly hard to watch and the book was the same way. I bawled through the last chapter or two. It’s rough losing a pet and Grogan completely captures the emotions of it all. My April book was The Girl Who Kicked The Hornet’s Nest by Stieg Larsson. I really enjoyed the third installment of the Millennium Series. It might be my favorite of the three. And now in May, I’m reading through What the Dog Saw by Malcolm Gladwell. It’s been fascinating. My favorite article in the book so far has been John Rock’s Error. It’s a discussion about religion, cancer, birth control, and the unintended consequences it has had on modern civilizations who use it. I’m about halfway through the book. So five months through 2012, I’ve managed to keep up with this one as well.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Revisiting the Bucket Resolutions

  1. Good job on the bucket list! Especially the book reading part. Especially the Lowcountry Bribe reading part. *wink*

    C. Hope Clark (alias Momma)

Leave a Reply

