Amendment One

Today is my first opportunity to vote in North Carolina and not in South Carolina. Similar to my first voting experience in the Bush/Gore election, this one looks to be a bit controversial.

Even though this is just the primary, I’m voting for the following:

The constitutional amendment (known as Amendment One in North Carolina) states:

Constitutional amendment to provide that marriage between one man and one woman is the only domestic legal union that shall be valid or recognized in this State.

I had a great conversation with my brother and sister in law last week on this issue. My sister in law knows which stance she’s taking, while my brother was still on the fence and hearing both sides out, so he asked for my opinion on the matter. Our talk, as with the conversation statewide, focused on gay marriage and/or civil unions.

I am voting for the amendment.

My reasoning is that I do not think life is fair. I do not believe in political correctness. I will not be shamed to vote against an amendment because an editorial in the New York Times considers me a bigot. I do not believe that everyone is always entitled to the same rights and benefits.

Several arguments against the amendment are that courts could or will no longer recognize civil unions and domestic partnership rights (between both same & opposite sex couples). In turn, this could or will affect domestic violence protection, child custody issues, medical decisions, wills, estates, and various other cases. But my question to the opposition is why should two individuals unwilling (or unable) to marry receive the same benefits as those who are married? If civil unions receive the same benefits, why not same-sex couples? Why not legalize polygamy? Why honor the institution of marriage at all? Life isn’t a baseball little league. Everyone doesn’t get a trophy just for living in the same state and breathing the same air.

However, a fellow Raleighian? Raleighite? blogger who lives in Raleigh wrote an entry explaining her stance against the amendment. I thought it was a well crafted, non-confrontational opinion so I’m more than happy to provide both sides of the issue.

In the end, I won’t tell someone else how to vote or try and convince them one way is better than the other. I can only voice my opinion by proudly casting my vote. And I will gladly, respectfully, and quietly accept whatever outcome the people of North Carolina decide.

=====

On a side note, fact-checking for this blog made me realize that both my driver’s license and voter’s registration have my last name misspelled. So I will be voting as someone who doesn’t exist on Tuesday.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Amendment One

  1. karenjanos says:

    Do you actually need ID in North Carolina to vote? I have NEVER been asked for ID in NY state to vote. Registering my 2 kids for Kindergarten was tougher than voting in NY. Drives me nuts!

    • Not only do you not need ID but the poll workers didn’t even check for my voter’s registration card. They asked for my name and then to verify my address and registered affiliation, which were in bold, large font on the card in front of me I could have read. My experience in South Carolina was that they at least checked for a voter’s registration card. Crazy!

Leave a Reply

