A Bowl of Oranges

Ouch.

I had intended to plan today’s blog around Clemson’s game last night in the Orange Bowl, as it kind of ties into today’s bucket resolution entry. Even if they had lost, I feel like I’m normally a pretty good sport and was completely willing to try and lend an objective take on the game.

But uh… they got rocked to the tune of 70-33. And even writing that, I don’t feel like it does it justice to how bad the game was.

What’s worse than destroyed, dismantled, and demolished all rolled into one 60 minute game? Because West Virginia could have scored 100 if they had kept playing at that tempo. They outscored Clemson (33 points) in the 2nd quarter (35 points) alone. Baylor had set the all-time bowl scoring record on the 29th with 67 points. And that record lasted all of six days. Clemson has now allowed the most points EVER in a bowl game.

All I have to say is that I’m glad 1) I didn’t spend the money to go down to Miami for the game and 2) that I no longer live and work in Columbia.

Overlooking the game though, it was a solid evening. Tara and I went over to a Clemson couple’s house to meet them and take in the game. My brother knows him through one of the Clemson message boards, he’s in our bowl pool (which reminds me I forgot to get his money… 70 points will do that to you), and we hadn’t planned on doing anything for the game since Stephen’s Coast Guarding it up the next few weeks. So we got to meet Jeff, his wife Anna, his brother, and their black lab Cole. I’m sure we’ll try to do more with them under better circumstances down the road.

P.S. They also made some amazing buffalo chicken dip. And I offloaded some of my ginormous batch of Christmas cookies I was sent back with.

=====

  1. Travel to Hawaii
  2. Own a cabin in the mountains
  3. Cut back on Facebook/Twitter/Useless-Internet-Surfing
  4. Clemson season tickets
  • Who: Myself and anywhere from one to three friends and family members
  • When: Fall 2012
  • Where: the Blue Ridge yawns it’s greatness (See what I did there?) For those of you unfamiliar with Clemson’s alma mater, that would be Death Valley, South Carolina!
  • Why: I know I’m a bit biased but college football really is king in the South (excluding North Carolina). And Clemson really is a special place to take in a game in the fall. I had season tickets in 2009 and would like to go on a regular basis again. And with Sammy Watkins there another three two years, it’s hard to say no to that. Right now, I’m mulling over the pros and cons between two, three, and four tickets. Two is clearly cheaper and the seats would be better. Three would be easier to bribe talk S&T into going to big games and much easier to sell as a pair if need be. Four would allow for just about any situation in terms of bringing friends or selling tickets. But it would incredibly expensive at $350-ish per ticket. I’ve got until April or so to decide though.

So anyone want to go to a game?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

