I Quit

A year ago today, I quit my job.

I did something so many seem to talk about but never do. I was unhappy in my 8-to-5. I wanted the ability to advance my career. I wanted responsibility and fulfillment. I wanted to not be bored after 9:30 AM every morning.

So I quit.

I would be lying if I said I didn’t enjoy the confused responses I got from coworkers and acquaintances at work. I had countless perplexed looks when I’d tell someone that no, I didn’t have another job lined up and I wasn’t sure when I would work again. Several members of management even asked why I didn’t let them know sooner so that I could work with them on finding a replacement. And honestly, that one still catches me off guard since I had given the standard two-weeks notice.

I wanted to travel. I wanted to see the country. I wanted to do it alone. And I wanted to do it now.

So I did.

I was gone for three months. I saw all 48 contiguous United States. And looking back, I wish I had slowed down. Some states, I passed through (Connecticut, Rhode Island, etc) without doing anything. Other states, I left some sights unseen (Chicago, San Diego, etc). But after several years working a job where I ran out of things to do, I didn’t want to stay complacent for too long. I enjoyed staying busy. Staying on the move. Always taking in something new every single day.

Looking back, I know there will be regrets. There’s always more to see and do. If I had gone too slow, I would have wanted to go faster. If I had gone faster, I would have wanted to slow down.

But at least I did it.

And looking forward, there are regrettable unknowns. I didn’t start seriously looking for a job until May. The tail end of August is rolling around and I still don’t have one. Almost every interview has asked about the gap in employment. It doesn’t bother me and I knew going into this, I would face that question. But I can’t help wonder how biased they become after getting an answer. I’ve had one interviewer ask how my skills have held up, due to the break. And another asked me if I felt like I would have a hard time adjusting to going back to a regular work week.

Thank you for your concern but I’m not sleeping in until 3PM just because I can.

I still have 43 applications open in Nashville, Tennessee. I had an on-site interview there two weeks ago and realized it wasn’t what I was looking for once I set foot in my future-would-be home. So now I have 24 applications open in the Raleigh, North Carolina area. Not to mention the 30+ closed applications that have told me thanks, but no thanks.

An opportunity will eventually open up for me though. No worries. I got this.

Every decision and choice will have consequences, both good and bad. A year ago today, I just decided I’d rather live with the consequences that came from doing something I enjoyed instead of just following the norm.

So I quit.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to I Quit

  1. sagetastic says:

    When you began this adventure, my knee-jerk reaction was, “What is his thinking?” because that is what we are programmed to believe… but then I realized that I wanted more than anything to have that freedom. I’m so envious of your 48-state adventure and wish that I too could do that one day… unfortunately, I lack the incredible drive and strength that you possess and I would be overcome with fear about the future what-ifs. Honestly, I think employers (well, the RIGHT employers) would understand that as a twenty-something you needed to explore and truly find yourself out in the world by yourself. Your adventure has made you a different man and it’s a noticeable change! You seem so full of life now and it’s contagious. 🙂

    Your perfect fit is out there… life decided to take the back roads instead of the highway.

  2. Shyanne says:

    Nanu,
    I’m sure with Hope as your mother you have thought of freelance writing as a career. I enjoy freelancing online and have begun to make a good living with residual income. I know there are pros and cons about writing online but it would be something to check into. I believe in having various streams of income from my writing. I write for magazines off line and online, have several niche blogs, etc. Unless it is something you really love I hate to see anyone be chained to a cubicle, especially so young. It seems like you enjoy travel and seeing different places and all you need is a laptop to do you work. I will continue to keep up with you and look forward to your “coffee table book” (like Kramer from Seinfeld….LOL)
    Shyanne

    • Honestly, freelancing hasn’t even crossed my mind. I have absolutely nothing against it or those who do it but as it’s painfully obvious in how inconsistent I am with my blog entries, writing becomes a chore for me after so long. I’m much more of a number cruncher & math nerd than I am writer!

  3. Karen says:

    I think it’s great that you decided to take the time to do something that you wanted to.

    Don’t worry about the gap in employment. Everyone I know has a gap (mostly from layoffs). At this point no one notices the gap on my resume. Just have a standard and reasonable answer to that question. You’ll be fine!

Leave a Reply

