Saved By The Bell

I’m a product of the ’80s. It’d be blasphemy if I didn’t make some pop-culture reference to Zack Morris, AC Slater, Kelly Kapowski, Jessie Spano, Lisa Turtle, and Screech in regards to school.

Yup, you read that right… school!

Yesterday marked the first day of two six-week classes I’m taking online. Call me a dork or nerdy it what you will but I’m pretty excited about it. So excited, in fact, that I finished reading the lesson for both classes, taking the quiz on each one, and finishing the non-graded, non-turned in assignment within a few hours of the lessons being made available online.

The first class is Introduction to ASP.NET. Long story short, it’s a web-application framework made by Microsoft for creating the interactive, dynamic websites known as Internet 2.0. I’ve had several ideas kicking around in my head for a year or two now – a series of websites that combines my love for numbers, stats, & databases with my obsession for college football. I have most of the SQL & database knowledge already from my time at Clemson and the last three years at GIS. My only website knowledge was an HTML background from high school. The best I could do with that was make a static, boring, hard-to-update/maintain site (Internet 1.0, if you will). No good! I’ve got the ASP.NET 3.5 For Dummies book but nothing keeps me motivated and helps me learn more than a set schedule a class provides. We’ll see how it goes!

The second class is Introduction to Visual Basic 2008. Visual Basic is an object-oriented programming language, like C++ or Java. It can be used to create desktop or mobile applications, which is what the course seems to be geared towards. But I’m more interested in using it in combination with the other class to put together my website ideas. If I can get a handle on it, Visual Basic should help me out in creating some pretty cool things and interactions online. Possibly a mobile-friendly site too. And maybe make a dollar or two in the process?

Hey, dream big, right?

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

