“Hey Les, you got a minute?”

Aside from that being a line from my favorite movie, American Beauty, it’s got to do with today’s blog – time management.

Up until this week, my days were pretty much all over the place. I’d make an excuse about watching Harper which would drag into hours instead of minutes. I’d check facebook and twitter until I realized I just killed my free time between breakfast and lunch. If I wanted to play my Xbox 360 and get some achievements, 4 hours later, I’d have half of them unlocked. So I did what any other crazy OCD person who keeps an index card with a running list of things to do on my desk does…

I made a schedule!

  • 8:30 – 10:00: I get up, take Harper out and on her walk to get the paper, fix her and my breakfast, and the Internet thing (Woot, Post & Courier, and whatever else floats my boat).
  • 10:00 – 12:00: I work on my resume, hunt for jobs, scope out maps for towns in the vicinity I may have missed, and generally anything else job-related. Not to mention I get it out of the way earlier in the morning.
  • 12:00 – 1:00: Lunch time and more internet playing for all of the Twitter goodness I’ve missed out on in the sports world while hunting for jobs.
  • 1:00 – 2:00: Writing time! Initially, I was going to have this blocked off just for my book I want to write. But I think it’s since turned into a book and/or blog time. Prologue is back underway!
  • 2:00 – 3:00: I’ve got to block off some time for exercising. Whether it’s running in preparation for the Cooper River Bridge Run on April 2nd or simply just taking Harper for a walk, I’ve got to be moving!
  • 3:00 – 5:00: This block is dedicated to reading up on database issues. Not only should it help with any employment opportunities that come knocking my way but also, I’ve got two projects down the road with my brother and a newspaper beat writer dealing with databases. And I needs me some learning! I’m pretty excited about these projects though.

And from there, I’m “off” for the rest of the day to do whatever I want to. Most of the time, it’s getting caught up on my database reading since I’ve never been able to finish a chapter by 5:00. Everything’s been going well so far, so I’ll see if I can’t stick it out for a few weeks and make some headway on some goals I’ve got.

In other news, I finished How to Raise the Perfect Dog by Cesar Millan today (it was on my checklist on the note card 😉 ). It was pretty good. I don’t quite back everything in it 100%. But I have tried following a lot of the suggestions and examples for Harper. Since raising a puppy isn’t done overnight, I can’t brag about having the perfect dog just yet, but a lot of the stuff seems to be gradually catching on. I’d definitely recommend it for any new dog owners, even if you’ve raised dogs before. It does more to teach you how to act around a puppy than it actually covers raising the dog. Good stuff!

One more day until Friday!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to “Hey Les, you got a minute?”

  1. RMJinAK says:

    Hi, Matthew! I see that your times for running are starting to get serious. Like I told you, my best times for the Bridge Run came in my late 20’s and 30. Of course, by then you and Stephen were around and started to have other things to do besides run every evening. I like your conclusion on the book – it is more about teaching you what to do than teaching the puppy. I felt that obedience classes are 80% for the owner and 20% for the dog. Don’t get that weather too hot for the Bridge Run; it is still below 32 here, although last Friday it did get up to 40 at one point. I hope to see you soon. Love, Daddy.

Leave a Reply

