Why, hello there 2011!

2010 was a hell of a year.

I’d argue 2010 was the biggest year in my life so far. Just in terms of who I am as a person, I doubt there’s been another year where I’ve changed so drastically and learned so much.

I know a lot people don’t like making resolutions. There’s also the group of people who claim it’s silly to set a date on when to change yourself instead of doing it right then and there. But given how the past year has gone, the following is my list of goals I’ve set to keep pushing myself forward.

1. Read more

I don’t remember ever hearing anyone do something like this other years but have already seen it mentioned several places this year. This blog entry is a good one. My buddy from Southern California wants to read more this year. My mom’s written a blog on the idea. So why not hop on the bandwagon? My goal is shoot for 30 books – 2.5 a month.

2. Get a dog

I put some serious thought into this one when I was traveling on the road. I’m leaning toward trying to find a labrador retriever. I’m definitely not into the lap-dog craze but I also don’t want anything too huge it’s cumbersome to deal with on my own or in an apartment. I’m also interested in having a dog big enough to exercise with. Most labs I’ve been around have also had amazing temperaments – I’m a laid back person and I want a calm dog. My ideas for names are built around my trip too. I might look serious into this one in the next week or two.

3. Exercise and be healthy

At first, this was just going to be about running on a consistent basis. Today was my first run of the new year – 1.5 miles in 11:55. I doubt I’ll run every day but I want to have some sort of schedule I follow. I eventually want to run a half marathon too. I’m not sure that will be this year but I do want to run more road races. I wanted to flesh this out more than just running though. I’ve done really well on laying off of red meat since I’ve been home, so I want to continue that. My portions for meals have been smaller as well. And I need to try and make a habit to eat yogurt or fruit on a regular basis. I’m not going full “health nut” here but I do want to make an effort to be healthier.

4. Blog, blog, blog!

I want to update the platform of my blog. Make it more personalized instead of just picking out a theme that WordPress has to offer. I want to customize it and make it my own. But also, I want to be more consistent on the postings. As with running, it might not be an everyday occurrence – especially with the exciting life I lead in Chapin, SC. But the more I write, the more comfortable I become with it. I also develop a better voice in my writing by being consistent. And as my stats page show me, when I’m writing on a regular basis, the readers keep coming back. They disappear when I disappear for a few days. More readers is never a bad thing! I might try and find new avenues to branch out in to look for more viewers too. That’s on the ambitious side though.

5. Write my book

I’ve been slack on this. The holidays are hectic. Family always seems to come calling during down times. It also doesn’t help that I live at home for the moment and don’t have anywhere else to go to concentrate. There’s always a distraction around the house with other people here like my step dad in front of the tv or my brother running around talking football. Bowl games don’t help much either. They’re bad excuses but it’s the truth. My goal is to write through it at least once this year. No guarantees it will ever see the light of day, but I want to give it a go. I also might put together a book of only my pictures. A coffee-table-book type thing. That would be pretty easy to do on Picaboo. We’ll see though. Any news on either one will be made in the blog, for sure.

6. More adventures!

This starts, first and foremost, with moving away from Chapin. And in all probability, South Carolina. I want to give living in a city a shot. At least for a year or so for the experience. I might pay my buddy a visit in Southern California since I passed it up on my trip. Mainly though, I just want new experiences. I really got hooked on seeing new things and stepping outside of my little box while I was on the road for three months. I understand I won’t be able to live on the road but I also want to get out of the house to live somewhere I might not have considered before. I want to take trips. I want to see Hawaii so I can say I’ve been to all 50 states. If it’s out there, I want to see it. Anyone willing to tag along is more than welcome to as well.

How about y’all? Anyone have any solid resolutions they plan on keeping past the second week of January?

And with that, I hope everyone had a safe and great New Years. I hope 2011 is even more amazing than 2010 was for both myself and all of you.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Why, hello there 2011!

  1. Don’t forget your brother’s wedding and your mother’s book release!

  2. Jordan says:

    You should get a lab/german shep mix..that’s what I have. They’re beautiful and ridiculously smart..and the females don’t get too big! 🙂

Leave a Reply

