Vroom Vroom!

I’ve been a little MIA lately. I wish I had some amazing story to tell about where I have been, adventuring my heart away. But honestly, life’s just been in the way.

My brother’s going into the Coast Guard Reserve. He’s trying to line up basic training for sometime in January. Well, I guess four weeks into basic, they have a qualification of sorts of their PT exercises. The running qualification is a mile and a half in 12 minutes. Going by my stereotypical image of a Coast Guard reservist, I’m a little surprised at that. That’s an eight minute mile. It’s not blazing speed but that’s not something you just go out and do without practicing either. So my brother’s been trying to get into the habit of running. And that’s one of the few “exercises” I really enjoy doing (I loathe weight training), so I was more than happy to tag along. I’ve got a 1.5 mile route from the house, so that’s all we’ve been hitting. First day (Sunday), I made it in 14:04 – roughly 9:20 minute miles. Second day (Monday), I dropped it down to 13:09. My brother then left to head up to Raleigh for Christmas festivities with his fiance’s family. So today, the third day, I was on my own and made it down to 12:39. I might end up killing myself but I’m bound and determined to get to that 12:00 minute mark by the time my brother gets back (Christmas afternoon). That’s Thursday, Friday, and Saturday to cut 39 seconds off of a mile and a half. I’m determined though!

Yesterday, I ran away. I went to Lake Greenwood State Recreation Area. It was just a day when I needed to get out of the house and go somewhere other than Christmas shopping. But also, I was giving my buddy from my first semester in college at Lander University an excuse to get out of her house as well. The day didn’t go exactly as planned. I got an unexpected phone call on the way there that completely threw me off my game. I wanted to try to get some pictures taken. I also wanted to just decompress a little. Maybe do some walking. But since this place was just a glorified boat ramp with two closed campgrounds, there wasn’t much to do there – no pictures were taken, no walks were had, and nothing was really seen. So that part of the day was pretty much a let down. But I did get in a good visit with my friend. I had stayed with her on my trip when I went through Richmond, Virginia the first go ’round. Due to life’s unusual set of circumstances, she’s back in SC with her parents in Greenwood now. Living the “life after doing what you thought was next in line” dream like I am right now, which essentially equates into spending a lot of time indoors and not doing much. So I sprung her free for a day. I vented a tiny bit. I lent an ear for her a good bit. We just caught up on the last 5 years or so – something we didn’t really get to do in Richmond. And we ended the day with Waffle House. Not that I eat there often, but when I do, it’s amazing and hits the spot every time. Delicious! Last night was spent typing up an overlooked email, finishing up present wrapping, and reading. Legit day.

Today, productivity took a back seat to the slow flow of pre-Christmas life. I did my running, mailed my dad & step mom’s Christmas presents (ironically, my dad called me later for my address, as he was doing the same), and did nothing but read and finish a model car I was working on.

I don’t think that’s something many people know about me. I like logic puzzles. I like regular puzzles. I read Dan Brown books because they’re so cryptic. I wanted to be an architect for a long time. And then an engineer. I like taking things apart, putting them together, learning how everything works. Somewhere along the lines growing up, someone got me a model car or airplane. I did a ton as a kid. Last year, the girl I was dating was into cars. Hardcore into cars. Like, so into cars, she had a ’68 Chevy Camaro – both in her garage at home and tattooed on her leg. So I bought a model ’69 Camaro for Valentine’s Day as something that might be fun to put together together. She bailed before we ever finished it. And since I’m too frugal to just chunk something I spent money on in the trash half done, I sat down to finish it. Which led to me getting another one. And another. And another. And you see where this is going. The one I finished today is a ’64 Ford Fairlane.

All of them reside on the top of the headboard on my bed. I try to keep them all separate colors. We’ll see how long that lasts. I’ve got two more in my closet and I’m down to making the last one a metallic purple. But here’s a picture into a small part of my hidden life. The first one is the ’69 Camaro. Then a ’70 Dodge Challenger (LOVE the paint job on this one). A ’69 Dodge Charger (would love to have a real one of these!). A ’67 Corvette Sting Ray. And a ’70 Mustang Mach 1.

Fun stuff!

And that’s really all I’ve got going on. Boise State won tonight (putting me at a measly 3-2 in my bowl pool). I’ve got San Diego State tomorrow night. I’m still reading Under The Dome. I’ve never read a book before where I absolutely loathed several of the antagonists like I do in this book. It makes me want to keep reading so I can see what, if anything, bad will happen to them. I just think it’s fantastic writing when an author can make you hate a fictional character like King does in this book. Also my xbox 360 broke. Not looking forward to dropping money on another one. But what can you do? I’ll probably wait until after the rush of Christmas for that.

Speaking of which, first round of Christmas officially starts tomorrow. My oldest step brother, his wife, and their son (my nephew) are coming over for the day. It’s coming, whether I’m ready for it or not! So here goes nothing!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Vroom Vroom!

  1. RMJinAK says:

    I knew you liked puzzles, but models! I never heard you mention one word about still doing models cars! So now I wonder what other secrets that you have. I used to do some, but your Uncle Bruce was the model making king in our family, from cars to ships to airplanes. The ones you have look nice – it appears you like you some muscle cars. Your uncle Brian had a 1969 or 1970 Mach I Mustang on which he taught me to drive a manual transmission. It was white with a flat black hood. I’ll bet he still misses that car.

Leave a Reply

