Prologue: This is hard!

I was gone for 3 months seeing the entire country and all of the people each state had to offer. I was perfectly fine the whole trip. I get back home, head up to see people at work on Friday, and three days later, I’m sick. How that’s even fair is beyond me.

Maybe it’s a sign telling me to leave Chapin and South Carolina? Or maybe I’ll just use that as my excuse!

It also means I picked a horrible day to start a schedule for running. Not only was it freezing cold and I felt like garbage, but I about killed myself from pushing it too hard. I’ve walk a ton of miles on my trip. I ran little to none. The lungs didn’t appreciate that today, for sure. Baby steps though. I still have ambitions of running a half marathon. I’ll get there one day!

I also started my book today. Admittedly, I’m not a writer. So this process is going to be hard for me. I don’t feel like I really know my “true calling” in life. I’m not passionate to be any one profession, like a nurse or teacher. I don’t extremely excel at any one area that would push me in that direction. I just like learning new things. I love learning new things, actually. But that means I’m above average at a LOT of stuff instead of exceptional at any one thing. And I feel like my writing mirrors that. I don’t have a “voice” I feel is mine. At least not yet. I know when something feels right, like this or this. And I know when something doesn’t, like this. It’s mainly driven by mood. If I’m in a good mood, I tend to write better. If I’m in a sour mood, my writing suffers. Clearly, these are all scientific explanations!

But I feel like I’ll learn more about myself through this process. First, I’ll be reliving my trip day by day. There will be a lot more explanation and detail than the blog should have shed on things. There will be new stories. So I’ll be reliving a lot of my good and bad moments. Second, I’m already learning different things about some of my friends. People I would have guessed would never want to be included in the book have jumped at the opportunity to have their little pieces added. Two have joked about being famous. Not only will it increase the number of people I’ll be able to guilt into buying a copy, but it will be cool to see what they think. But it’s also going to upset some people. It’s not my intention. But there are some stories I think add to the understanding of what I learned about myself that people don’t want told. So there’s going to be a negative side to learning through this process too. With good, there’s always bad. I tend to believe you learn more from negative aspects of life anyways. Bring on the learning!

I made it through most of the prologue though. I’m 5 pages and 1,600 words into it. My head cold kicked in a little bit, had a conversation bouncing around on Twitter, and before you know it, BAM! I hit a brick wall. It stopped being a story and started just being me listing facts and events that happened. I quit telling and started reciting. So I’m tossing in the towel for the night. Hopefully, I’ll be able to get it finished tomorrow though. I’ll be proud with an entire chapter (even if it is only a prologue) I can print out. It will get ripped and shredded to pieces, both by myself and probably my mom, in the editing process. But it’s a tangible start!

Speaking of books, I started reading Under The Dome yesterday. I’m already 100 pages into it, which speaks to two points: how intriguing it is to get into and how much spare time I have while just sitting at home. It’s very good so far though. I’m a huge Stephen King fan though so take that with a grain of salt. It’s my 44th Stephen King book, if that tells you anything.

My bed and book are calling though. So I bid the Internet world adieu for the evening.

P.S. People are interesting. I’ve never understood why the people who want you to know nothing about their lives and stay shrouded in secrecy are those who are most interested in other people’s stories. Quite voyeuristic. But thanks for reading 😉

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Prologue: This is hard!

  1. Tit for tat. You might have to start editing my books, too!

  2. Shyanne says:

    Hello Matthew,
    Baby Steps is a good way to do many things in life….trust me. And in case you didn’t know it, you ARE a writer! A lot of us out here have been reading what you write and waiting for more. Some of us write for years without writing a book. I have no desire at this time to write a book. But one day…It has been my experience that fiction writers are into books. I write non-fiction and would have no idea how to start on a book. So you will do fine.

    BTW, Stephen King is my favorite fiction writer also. I haven’t counted how many books I’ve read I’ll have to do that. Enjoy your in-between time. I imagine it is vastly different now being home after your trip.

    Hope you get well soon. Take care.

    Shyanne

Leave a Reply

