The Birth of an Author

So I’ve been meaning to write something about this for awhile but I’ve finally got the time as the last few days have either been consumed by phone calls, early bedtimes, or some other weak excuse.

I’ve got a few things to say about writing. But my points are all over the place, so bear with me.

First, I finally finished reading The Town (or Prince of Thieves, depending on when it was published) by Chuck Hogan on Friday. The movie was pretty good. The book was really good too but in a completely different way. So much was different. Completely different ending and character development. But I’m a little Boston’d out for the time being. So I picked up The Accidental Billionaires by Ben Mezrich. It’s the story about facebook (without Mark Zuckerberg’s input anyways), how it got started, and the scandals behind the scene about it. It’s very, very good so far. I’m a fourth of the way through it and it’s hard to put down.

I’m on this big reading kick and I have no idea why. I’m flying through books. And I asked for two biographies for Christmas. I never read biographies. What’s gotten into me? A bajillion week long trip, it seems. I’m a changed boy.

Second, my mom slipped another blog entry on her site about me. I would have never known if my stats hadn’t skyrocketed like crazy on Thanksgiving. It’s not full of tear-jerking moments like the first time she wrote about me. But it’s still pretty awesome. Especially to read my mom, a very accomplished writer in the online realm,  say she’s proud (of course… there’s truth in saying she’s just the mom and that’s their job). But also to read that she’s jealous. That’s ridiculous to me. I’m just a kid who grew up with the Internet at his fingertips, is familiar with blogs and the style of informal online writing, and sometimes a lot of the time includes some almost-too-personal details that shouldn’t be aired in the online world. It feels good reading stuff like that. Like I’ve accomplished something bigger than I was really looking for on this trip. That’s cool stuff at work, right there.

And finally, the big news… I have full intentions of writing a book. My mom, the writer that she is, has been pushing the idea since before I took the trip. She kept talking about how I should write a memoir. And being the typical kid, I blew it off. I’m not even entirely sure I know what a memoir is. But after my day with Aunt Doris, the realization I’ve left a lot of fun stories out (camping emotions, family in Baltimore, disasters in Boston, etc), and retouching on the book idea in a solid conversation with my mom, it’s an exciting idea for me now. There’s still a ton to work out. I haven’t started on anything as much as an outline because I really want to focus on my trip for the last couple of weeks – finish strong before moving on. But I’m a little anxious about getting something down on paper to see how it goes. Chances are, I’d go the self-publishing route because I see first-hand how hard my mom works on trying to get her novels published the traditional way. Quite frankly, I have no desire to put THAT much work into it (props to her for doing that though). And I need to brush up on this whole “artistic license, libel, don’t-get-sued” thing because I know nothing about that. But when I get home, I’ve got a starting place.

And at this point, that’s all I need!

“Even if a thing is doomed – there is that moment of absurd hope that is worth the fall, that is worth everything.” – The Town/Prince of Thieves by Chuck Hogan

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Birth of an Author

  1. Kayla says:

    You should definitely do it. Looks like your mom has passed on her amazing talent 🙂

  2. Yep, good idea, like I’ve always been saying. I’m not normally a memoir person, but this trip, your sense of humor, and your bloggish way of looking at the world is quite trendy now. We’ll get serious about it in a few weeks, maybe after the holidays, even. For now, enjoy those last days of your trip. Enjoy them with keen eyes, knowing that what you see is what has potential in a book. I’m telling you, the world is different through a writer’s eyes.

  3. vicki says:

    I think you should try! Do you know there are probably a lot of kids who would read a story like that. You’re doing something they haven’t done, may be afraid to do, or would like to try to do. Your insight might just give them the courage to take that trip, try something new, explore their dreams and try. If you try then at least you gave it a go. If you never try, you’ll never know! Good luck. I’m rooting for ya!

    • Thanks! I’ll definitely try. This trip has taught me that for sure. Whether it’s been just seeing something, staying somewhere, meeting someone I normally wouldn’t, it’s always worth the shot. Just taking the trip itself was a big gamble, but it’s more than paid off!

Leave a Reply

