California or bust!

I’m coming to you from the cusp of California! Pretty riveting stuff.

I skipped writing about what I did on November 1 because, frankly, I didn’t do anything. The plans were to see Mt. Rainier and Mt. St. Helens. But I completely jinxed myself in my blog about the great weather in Seattle and it poured all day with low cloud cover. And when you want to see two gigantic mountains, low visibility isn’t what you’re looking for. I did give it a go though. I just also did a lot of backtracking after my go completely failed. My one cool experience for the day was driving into and out of Mt. Rainier National Park though. Going down the road, I realized it felt like I was in this huge hallway or corridor. Normally, I don’t make anything of trees lining the road (I’ve seen enough of that on this trip to not think it’s spectacular) but then I started comparing the size of the trees to the telephone poles – at least 2 or 3 times as tall. I guess they’re firs? Or pine trees? Either way, they’re massive. Which only got me more pumped up for when I get to see the Redwoods and Sequoias!

Anyways, to make a long story short, I wound up in Portland, Oregon at 3pm local time. I grabbed a hotel room and some lunch. I headed out to see Hereafter at the movies (absolutely terrible movie, I thought). And came back to just relax, grab some dinner, and wash some much needed laundry.

Yesterday was a completely different story! Nothing boring about it! I was in Portland so that I could pick my dad up from the airport. He flew in from Anchorage to spend the week traveling the coast of Oregon and Northern California. He flies out on Saturday in San Francisco, so there’s a solid couple of days with a co-pilot in my truck. He was supposed to get in at 5:30am but, for some reason, I woke up on my own at 4am. I sat up and the pain in my head all but slammed me back down. Hello 8 weeks on the road. And hello first migraine. Such an absolutely miserable feeling. The only good thing about it is that I slept through most of the beginning stages of it, it seemed.

But after dragging my feet for awhile, I managed to get over to the airport, pick up the cargo, and hit the road. We stopped in Eugene, Oregon to see the Duck’s Stadium. It was a pretty impressive looking stadium….from 150 feet away, locked outside of any imaginable entrance. But they do have nice facilities, for sure.

  • Facade of the stadium
  • Overhang in the stadium
  • I’m thinking the purple clashes a little green and yellow? Maybe?
  • You know you’ve made it when you have your own port-a-potty! ABC or ESPN personnel were the only ones allowed to use this… I be the toilet paper has the ACC logo all over it!

From Eugene, we booked it down to Crater Lake National Park. It’s the deepest lake in the United States and 7th deepest in the world at almost 2000 feet deep. The water is rumored to be the clearest in the world. It has no streams or rivers flowing into it or out of it – it’s simply kept stocked by the snow melt. You readers are going to love me if you ever go to a national park-themed trivia night anywhere!

It was absolutely amazing though. It made it a little more intriguing because we had to play in the snow to get to the views. The park ranger told us they had gotten 50 inches of snow in the previous 10 days. Um, what? That’s more than 4 feet. Ridiculous! The road around the rim was closed for the year and converted into a cross country trail (a 32 mile one at that), but the gift shop and snack bar at the top was still open to drive to.

Again, I’ll let the pictures do the talking for me as it was just stunning. They won’t do it justice, but here you are! I left these a little bigger so you can see the detail.

  • View we walked up on. The lake was smooth as glass when we got there
  • More view
  • Apparently a photo shoot busted out in the middle of my visit. Some hot dude in front of a lake
  • A picture of the snow and how deep it is next to my truck
  • More views
  • Trying to show the slope on the edge. It doesn’t quite translate onto a picture but let’s just say if you went over the edge, you weren’t stopping…

From there, it was just driving until we found a spot. We were going to try and make it to California but after the day of a migraine and being on the road, I wasn’t up for a 4 hour drive to finish off the day. So we’re still in Oregon. But not for long!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

