Home, home on the range

Just chugging along today, as it’ll probably be more of a driving day to get me from Point A to Point B than it will be a sight seeing day.

Yesterday was good though. I’m glad I took the river tour of the Wisconsin Dells. There were maybe 30 people on the entire boat, so it was a small, laid back crew and tour. There was a lot of history from the Indians in the area to the loggers that used the Wisconsin River, which feeds into the Mississippi. And, of course, I got some good pictures.

I made it to a new state too by getting to Minnesota. It’s about to the point where I just need to start listing how many I haven’t been to, as I’m well over the halfway mark. I’ve got ND, SD, NE, KS, OK, MO, KY, WV, NM, CO, WY, MT, ID, UT, AZ, CA, NV, OR, & WA left. I should be able to cross North Dakota off of the list today and maybe Montana and/or South Dakota tomorrow? I was trying to find something in North Dakota to do and it’s a little rough. The Theodore Roosevelt National Park was about as glamorous as it got. It might wind up just being a place to sleep between here and Mount Rushmore. But first, I think I’m hitting the Minneapolis Sculpture Garden this morning.

Minnesota was good though. I’m in Bloomington for the night, as I had to do the Mall of America thing yesterday. I’m not normally a mall going guy, but this place was impressive. Four stories. Essentially an amusement park, complete with two roller coasters and a ferris wheel, in the middle of the mall. And I managed to drop $55 on four books in Barnes & Noble. Prince of Thieves, which is the book The Town is based upon, The Accidental Billionaires, which is the book The Social Network is based upon, and two more books, which shall remain unnamed. One is a classic and the other is essentially a biography. Not to mention I have to finish Blue Like Jazz. And I brought along Under The Dome and a Dean Koontz book. So yeah…no chance I finish that heap of books before my trip’s through. But at least I’ve got some good reading ahead of me!

And that’s all folks! I’ll leave you with some pictures from the Dells.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

