Maine, I hardly knew you

Beard Watch: We’re on day 9 today!

For proof, here is the most unflattering picture known to man.

Other than the embarrassment that is that picture, it’s been a pretty low key few days. I did absolutely fall in love with Maine though. The place is gorgeous. And I’m sure it would be an amazing place to live in, assuming you had something other than a tent for a home. Because I’m here to tell you that 40 degrees is not ideal for a tent. At least not the one I’ve got.

The day of the my sunrise post, I wound up going to Lubec, ME to check out their lighthouse. Very beautiful. They also had some trails that hiked up on top of the rock cliffs around the area and the waves were absolutely amazing that day. I managed to hit it at high tide, so everything was crashing and splashing. I could have stayed all day and just watched nature do her thing.

A day or two later, I stayed with a friend outside of Boston and we crossed back into Maine to check out one of my friend’s favorite lighthouses and grab some lunch. This was in York, Maine. It helped that it was a gorgeous day outside (albeit a little windy), but it was a quirky little place. The lighthouse is on its own island and there’s a bucket the operator has to ride across the channel. It was definitely more touristy than the one I saw, but that’s probably because mine was across the water from Canada and this was within 45 minutes of Boston.

The state count is up to 22 now, I believe, thanks to all of the bite-sized New England states. I’ve got SC, GA, FL, AL, MS, LA, TX, AR, TN, NC, VA, MD, PA, DE, NJ, NY, CT, RI, MA, VT, NH, & ME. And so far, Maine’s definitely been my favorite. The South just feels like home when driving through. But I was the most intrigued and impressed with Maine. I know that I pick on all my northern, Yankee friends. But you really do have got something going on, in terms of the landscape and scenery. Definitely impressed. So impressed I might take a closer look after my adventuring is done.

The first three are from the West Quoddy Lighthouse in Lubec, Maine. The last two are from the Cape Neddick Lighthouse in York, Maine. Both amazing in their own right.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Maine, I hardly knew you

  1. Teresa says:

    Those are gorgeous photos. I want to visit Maine. I bet the leaves are turning beautiful colors right now.

    Teresa

  2. I would highly suggest it if you ever get the chance to! I absolutely loved my time there.

    Thanks for stopping by to check out my blog!

Leave a Reply

