Good morning, Canada

I’m huddled up in my truck going full-on homeless. I’m talking hooded sweatshirt with the hood over my head, long shirt sleeves protruding from my sweatshirt sleeves, six-day-old beard going, and I haven’t had a shower in almost 48 hours.

About the only thing I’m missing are the fingerless gloves, a metal oil drum with a fire going inside, and the mangy, stray dog I use to beg for your coins.

But I had one of the coolest experiences in my life, much less on this trip, this morning.

One of my goals was to go to the easternmost point in the United States. I don’t think it’s as coordinated and laid out as well as the southernmost point in Key West, but everything I’ve read says Eastport, Maine is the easternmost community. And lucky enough for me, there’s a campground right on the water (Seaview Campgrounds). So last night, 42 degrees and all, I camped out on the edge of America. I’m so far east, my cell phone is actually picking up service from a Canadian tower and the clock is running an hour fast, since that part of Canada is in the Atlantic Time Zone. The time zone thing is cool…the international charges I might have racked up on my phone last night won’t be.

Well, you can’t stay at the easternmost place in the United States and NOT see the sunrise. So bright and early at 6AM (7AM to the crazy Canucks living in my phone), I was up to watch the sun rise at 6:35AM. Sunrises are pretty impressive enough as it is, but knowing that you’re one of the very first people in the entire country to see the sun rise is something words can’t explain. Such an amazing experience and totally worth the frostbitten nubs that are my toes. I’ll add a few pictures, but honestly, they’re not going to do it justice.

The first two are pretty obvious. They’re about 60% of the original size, so watch out for hugeness. The third is where I got to spend the night. Jealous? Thought so. And the fourth is just for fun. AT&T sent me a text message saying “Hey! You! You’re an American leeching off of Canadian towers. You surf the net and we’re going to nail you!” Notice the ‘Bell’ signal too, instead of the normal ‘AT&T’

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Good morning, Canada

  1. Desiree says:

    That’s absolutely beautiful.

  2. Teresa says:

    Yes, I am jealous of those sunrises and your journey. Good for you. You are doing what I always wanted to do, but when I was your age, I had a husband and two children and really couldn’t. Now? Well those children might have me committed.

    So funny about AT&T. I didn’t know they would do that. Very funny.

    Teresa

  3. Annette says:

    What a cool experience–all of it. Love your mom’s work. She sent me here.

  4. I just left this comment on your Mom’s blog. “Kia Kaha”. It’s a Maori phrase meaning something like ‘go hard, be strong, realise your potential’. I’m pleased to see people still shucking off the 9 to 5. I did something similar in Europe through the ’80s and have never regretted any of it. In fact when the kids grow up I might just have another go. Where’s my backpack?

  5. Thank you for the phrase and comment! It’s been an intense trip so far, but I’m glad I took the leap to leave my comfort zone and see the country. I wish you the best of luck in taking another trip! I appreciate you stopping by!

  6. S.E.Ingraham says:

    very cool move – enjoy your time doing this; as the saying goes, ‘life’s more about the journey and less the destination’ – think you know that already – kudos

  7. Allison says:

    When I was 26, my dad died and left way too much money for a young person to suddenly come in to. Instead of investing it in graduate school or leaving it safe and getting a 9 to 5 job, I traveled, went to massage school, followed the Grateful Dead, went to England that included a private group who got to touch the Stonehenge stones an hour before it actually opened, shamanic journeys, as well as living on it. I made it last 9 years. Though some of the money I spent many judged me for, I have no regrets. At 44, I’m now a wife, mom, finally writer, and cherish that I had my adventures when I was younger. I salute you and your fearlessness.

    • Very cool! It’s encouraging to hear from people who have made similar decisions and how positive and upbeat they are from their choices. Thanks for taking a second to swing by too!

  8. Katherine says:

    Beautiful sunrise. I am so glad you left your boring 9-5 in Chapin and are experiencing life, finally. There is something exciting about travelling; experiencing new places, camping with nature, and meeting new people – you find yourself through your experiences. Congratulations and good luck with the rest of your journey, wherever it may lead.

  9. Deborah Amadei says:

    Enjoy your journey! When I was 16, I took a bicycle trip through Nova Scotia and Prince Edward Island. My group ended up at the summer place of Father Maroon, who thew a party.We also visited a Canadian Air Force base, where we got breakfast.
    This is not half as courageous but I will be retiring next year and writing full-time.
    Your mother has been functioning as my personal advisor. So I am not surprised she raised a great son!

  10. Pingback: Hawaii: Day 4 | Nanu's Nation

Leave a Reply

