Hello, World!

I completely expected to have my first entry up by now, but two and a half days into my trip and Florida is first place to have Wi-Fi advertised at some place I stopped.

So here I am – Being completely sketchy, eating lunch at a rest area by myself, stealing the wonder that is high speed internet.

It’s been a lot of ups and downs so far. Tuesday was mostly downs, as I got completely behind schedule not once, not twice, but multiple times. I met a friend in downtown Columbia on my way to Williams Brice Stadium for pictures, which put me behind. Then finding a place to park at the stadium put me behind. Next stop was Edgefield to pick up my National Parks Annual Pass, where (see a pattern yet?) I got put behind since they only took cash. Augusta, GA was next in line to eat lunch (which turned into dinner for me) with a cousin. It was a great visit and she bought me “Blue Like Jazz” if I promised to read it on my journey. But I was late leaving there, got lost on Georgia’s campus in Athens trying to find their stadium, and…you get the picture. I did enjoy Georgia’s campus though! Finally, my GPS guided me through the backwoods of northern Georgia to find Amicalola Falls State Park at 10:15 pm. The first night, putting my tent up in the dark, and trying to head to bed, all after spending the day falling behind, was a little rough, to say the least. A very overwhelming feeling. Not enough to make me pack up and go home…but almost. Kim gets credit for keeping me company.

Luckily, Wednesday was much better. Up at 7:30 to see the Amicalola Falls, which were amazing. Lots of pictures were taken and as soon as I find a suitable internet connection and photo hosting site, there will be pictures accompanying my stories. Atlanta and it’s hellacious traffic were next. I walked Georgia Tech’s campus and saw their field. I grabbed lunch at The Varsity. Oddly enough, that’s the first time I’d eaten there even though I’ve passed by it who knows how many times. After my belly was happy, I decided on the Atlanta Aquarium to eat up the majority of my time there. I can now vouch for that being money well spent. They had amazing creatures to see, like whale sharks (which I happened to see during their feeding time), beluga whales (so gorgeous), and a pool to pet sting rays and hammerhead sharks. Very impressive and I’d highly recommend going if you get the chance. I spent the night in Tifton with my Aunt, Uncle, and cousin. I also got to see my 94 year old grandmother who’s in the last stages of Alzheimer’s. I don’t do well in those situations, so I was incredibly uncomfortable. But I’m glad I went.

Which brings me to today! I just crossed the Florida line, so I’ve now hit 3 states. Only 45 more to go to reach my goal! Gainesville, FL and Orlando, FL are the two stops today. Miami and the Keys are next up after that to round out the week. Hopefully, I’ll be able to steal internet in more stops to keep the masses up to date on my travels.

And maybe find my voice and what I’m looking for in life along the way too. See ya at the next rest stop!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hello, World!

  1. Nanu,

    Your trip sounds great so far! Can’t wait to see pics!

    Love you.

  2. Lisa and Ethan says:

    Hope you have fun. We love we can read your reports on here.

  3. Bonnie Jerdan Sayles says:

    You neglected to post that you made your grandmother’s day, and she laughed and laughed at your smiling face. And you got her to talk, which she hadn’t done in a week or two. I don’t know how anyone could “do” any better than you did, especially playing parachute with all those elderly ladies. Bringing people joy is pretty good in my book. She was glad you came and I was too! It’s always good to get out of your comfort zone.

Leave a Reply

